We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still not making the grade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton College Station & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in College Station
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Still not making the grade!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Well we began a boycott of the Hilton a year or so ago, and recently heard that things had changed there due to new ownership/management so we decided to give them another chance. This hotel has the location and basic structure to be something special. The only hotel in town with a built in bar and restaurant. What a Hilton should be. One certainly expects better service than say, a Homewood or Holiday Inn.
We stopped using the Hilton due to their high prices and lack of service and facilities to back those prices up. Now, due to a drop in pricing that made them reasonable again in comparison, we gave them another try.
They still don't seem to be able to get the idea.
While there are posterboards on display showing the new looks coming, I doubt that a makeover alone will work. Yes, a makeover is definitely needed though. Tired carpeting, stained and worn, in hallways and rooms. Bathrooms that are in desperate need of upgrades: tiny tubs, broken fittings, etc.... Just a general renewal is in order.

But fixing up and remodeling will not make up for the general lack of service. 1. When inquiring upon arriving about a bellman to help with luggage, I was told "he is running around here someplace"!
2. I had requested foam pillows instead of feather due to wife's allergies. There were certainly plenty of pillows on the bed, all feather filled.
3. Also had requested additional bath towels; not there. #'s2 & 3 were remedied with a call to housekeeping, but, how hard is it to read the comments and requests section of the reservation?
4. As a Hilton Honors member I requested early check-in. No such luck. Room was ready by regular checkin time.
5. Hilton Honors also noted my request for a local newspaper. We got the standard USA Today only.
6. There were four lights in the dressing area, two burnt out. But, an "Engineer" was sent to rectify this problem.
7.The trash was not emptied ever, during our stay.
8. When trying to checkout using the suggested "call the front desk and advise them of your departure" idea, I was unable to get an answer even though constantly dialing back every 1-2 minutes for over 20 minutes! The phone would ring a 4-5 times then disconnect.

Just a lot of problems that shouldn't exist.
As the only hotel in College Station that is expected to rise beyond the norm, how hard would it be to provide proper service?

I realize that the hotel is usually filled due to it's name and the fact that many Aggies use it for a base camp, along with TEEX and others doing business in the area; but is this an excuse or lack of incentive to do better? Why not give your customers what they pay for?

Room Tip: Best of luck. Seems to be a real crapshoot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobert2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    227
    132
    74
    43
See reviews for
216
83
39
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

WOW! What a disappointment. You would expect a fairly decent hotel at over $300 per night. The place was filthy, nasty stains all over the carpet, worn out furniture, black mildew in the tub. You have to pay $3 per water bottle to make coffee in the room. The Jacuzzi was broken, the TV was broken, they forgot to bring our pre ordered breakfast. And the answer to everything was....... "we're under renovation". Basically, they should have just said, "we don't care", because that's all I got. What a fun finish to my son graduating, and our last day at College Station.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I want to personally thank you for your comments and assure you that they are taken seriously. We are under renovation for the entire hotel and to date have completed almost 80 of the 303 rooms here. At the same time you comments spell out a need to retrain a few of our associates and we have been doing just that. We just finished a Hilton Quality Assurance inspection yesterday and received 100% cleanliness scores on our guest rooms. Thanks again for your comments and hope that you can return to Aggieland and stay with us again and stop by and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I spent four days/nights here attending a conference. The rooms were roomy and comfortable; mine had a small fridge and microwave. The hotel itself is very large and caters to conferences and events. Every night there was something going on (mostly Texas A&M functions and dances), so the meeting rooms and lobbies were busy, and the parking lots often pretty full The desk staff was helpful and courteous to a fault, though not as informed about local spots as I would have expected. The pool was one of the most beautiful I've seen at any hotel, and the hotel restaurant (Bell Ranch) was one of the best in town. A word of warning: there was a poster-announcement in the hall that the meeting rooms were scheduled for renovation, and there was some hammering and sawing above my room on the morning of my departure--so check on construction status before booking. But otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeneasAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for all your kind remarks and we too think we have a great hotel. We are renovating our hotel and so far, up to this date, have not had anyone complain about noise. We are watching that very closely. Thank you for staying with us and stop by and say hello the next time you are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel needs a MAJOR overhaul! Have stayed here occasionally since the mid 70's and nothing has changed! Upon opening the door to our room we were hit with a revolting stench! It was a musty, moldy, old nauseating smell. Looking around it was very obvious that the upholstery and carpet throughout was very worn with many, many stains on the sofa and chair. They looked so bad and disgusting we wouldn't even sit on them. If that wasn't enough.....the curtains had cigarette burns on them and this was a non-smoking room! And what's with only two towels? Is there a towel shortage?

I must say that the front desk was very friendly and room service was good but if you are going to be the "premium" hotel in a college town and charge "premium" prices then you need to update your rooms and facilities. There are many other newer and nicer places to stay for a whole lot less money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittyjane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I want to sincerly thank you for your comments regarding your room. I have just finish renovating almost 80 of our 303 guest rooms and will say that they are gorgeous. We will continue over the next several months until all of the rooms are complete and the public space is done as well. We will have a unique water feature in the main lobby that will look spectacular I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff as I think they are truly amazinng team members and give great service to our guest. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback and please stop by and say hello the next time you are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This hotel has great service. The staff is very helpful. This was my third stay at this hotel. The only complaint I have is that the room doors slam if you don't make them close slowly. So you end up hearing doors slam all the time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oheresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thanks for you kind remarks as I too feel that we have great and friendly team members giving great service. Please stop by and say hello the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This hotel is the traditional Hilton, I am a Hilton Honors member but there is no lounge for the Honor members. Other than that this hotel has great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeIsGood1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCSGM, General Manager at Hilton College Station & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
thanks for your comments and staying with us. We are now in the process of completly renovating our hotel and just finished the swiming pol area and it is gorgeous. Stop by and say hello the nest time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi, united arab emirates
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The Hilton is a conference hotel and well located near Texas A&M. It has a shuttle to campus, which helped a lot even though we had a rental car. business facilities were fine and rooms comfortable. Basic Hilton, and a good choice in this small university town with little choice of nice hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Station hotels
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton College Station
Home2 Suites by Hilton College S...
#4 of 35 in College Station
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place College Station
Hyatt Place College Station
#6 of 35 in College Station
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham College Station
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Colle...
#7 of 35 in College Station
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in College Station
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavalry Court
Cavalry Court
#2 of 35 in College Station
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn College Station
Hampton Inn College Station
#15 of 35 in College Station
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton College Station & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton College Station & Conference Center

Property: Hilton College Station & Conference Center
Address: 801 University Dr E, College Station, TX 77840-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton College Station & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the intersection of University Drive and Tarrow Boulevard in College Station, Texas, the Hilton College Station & Conference Center gives guests easy access to Texas A&M University, Brazos Valley and Bryan, TX. Use our local shuttle to get to those and popular nearby attractions. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site restaurant, bar, and room service. Our ample meeting space, skilled event staff, and A/V equipment make our hotel ideal for conferences, receptions, trainings, and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton College Station & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton College Station And Conference Center
Hilton College Station Hotel College Station
College Station Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing