We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful desk staff, very nice property, very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University Drive
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in College Station
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here the day after Christmas so we could do Santa's Wonderland Christmas lights. We didn't check in until after 7, TJ the clerk working was uber helpful. What a guy! He told us about the long wait we would have for the lights when we were leaving the hotel, that was very helpful. He also gave me information about hours for a restaurant when I called him from my car, what a guy! The hotel itself seems very new, the rooms are all suites with a microwave, fridge, bar, etc. Also, the room has a sleeper sofa and TJ informed us where in the room the extra blankets and pillows for that were stored. The free breakfast the next day was very good, the eating area was very clean and neat and everything arranged very attractively. On the breakfast buffet, there were hot eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, english muffins, toast, sweet breads, cereal hot and cold and your choice of coffee, milk, juice and water. Plus, make your own hot tea, if you wish. We were very pleased with this location. Also, Buffalo Wild Wings is right in front of the hotel so you could walk there from the hotel. Very convenient. Plus, you're right on University Drive and there are a plethora of restuarants to choose from so the hotel has an awesome location for that not to mention, you're about 5 minutes away from A&M. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there would be a bad room here......we stayed in room 304. It's quite a ways d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrycharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family of five stayed here when we were in town to run the BCS Marathon. We were in a suite that had a king bed in it's own room and a queen bed separated by a little wall from the kitchenette and living room area.

The very most important thing that must be mentioned is that although there is a FULL kitchen (stove, microwave, oven, dishwasher, fridge), there are NO dishes, silverware, pots and pans, nothing to actually cook with. We chose this place specifically because we wanted to do a couple of meals in the room, but were very limited by what we could make because there were no kitchen supplies. I'm not sure if there is a point to having a full kitchen and no way for people to use it.

Another quirky thing was that if you hung up your towel, to presumably use it again, housekeeping would take it. Then they came around later in the afternoon with new towels. Not sure if they just have a limited supply of towels or what, but we had to call housekeeping the afternoon of the marathon because we didn't have any towels in our room, even though we had hung them up the day before, and that's when they told us that their policy was to take them, launder them, and return them later. Uh, okay.

The pillows here are square, but they are put in rectangular pillowcases. There are a BUNCH of pillows on the bed though, so this was no big deal, just a little strange.

Front desk staff and breakfast area staff were always very nice. Breakfast was waffles (plain or blueberry) in a Texas-shaped waffle maker, a variety of muffins/pastries, bagels/biscuits/English muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, oatmeal, fresh whole fruit (bananas, apples, and oranges) - and the hot stuff rotated, though there were scrambled egg rounds every day that we were there. Extra nice that they had the food all set up early the morning of the marathon - all of us runners appreciated it.

Grub Burger Bar is right across the street, we also tried Freebirds, which was delicious as well. Texas A&M campus is a few minutes' drive away, and if you're staying here for the marathon, the start/finish is also just a few minutes away.

Even with the weird quirks, we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are planning on cooking, bring your own pots/pans/dishes/utensils. There is a full kitchen i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtcourt257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very convenient for back and forth to campus. The breakfast variety and quality was outstanding. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The sofa bed was nice and firm to sit on but if you are over 8yrs old you will find it very uncomfortable. But, have you ever slept on a comfortable sofa bed? We loved that the coffee was not in the bathroom but was by the fridge and microwave...much more inviting and sanitary. The room and bathroom was very clean which unfortunately contrasted with the hallway carpeting that could use a good cleaning. Overall, we felt safe and comfortable and well fed.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank rapidtexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This Comfort Suites property is very attractive inside. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We almost had a feeling of being "at home" in our room due to the decorations and layout of the room. There was a fairly good selection of breakfast items. The staff was very friendly, especially our check-in desk clerk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The pros:

Very convenient location - University is where a lot of College Station restaurants are located. This Comfort Suites is almost directly across from Grub Burger Bar and Boston's, two of our fave casual restaurants in College Station (Boston's is going south but that's for another review). Also, this hotel is set back off University, behind Buffalo Wild Wings, so being away from the busy street gives you less noise. There are a couple of empty lots on the way in, which make one wonder if this is a sketchy facility, but the hotel grounds are well kept up.

Good value for money - we got a 2 "bedroom" suite for the same price we normally pay for 1 bed and a sofa bed. But the 2nd "bedroom" was just a bed out in the open past the kitchen, not a bedroom to itself. The bedroom included a king bed, the non-bedroom; a queen bed. The beds were fine although the pillows are those weird, half-size ones like throw pillows.

Fixtures are decent, builder-grade material. Nothing fancy, just the basics. Everything worked, and there were 2 thermostats - one for the living room/bedroom and one for the real bedroom. There were overhead fans in the living room and bedroom, something I don't normally see.

There is a full kitchen including oven in the suites.

The cleaning staff is honest - I left a nice pair of sandals in the room when we switched across the hall and they turned them in to the Lost and Found. I was afraid I would never see them again, but thankfully, I got them back.

The front desk personnel were very friendly and attentive.

Cons:

Location - There are NO grocery stores on University since Albertson's pulled out some time ago. So if you need anything you have to head up to Texas, the closest groc. store is HEB I think, about 10-15 minutes drive.

Fixtures - As usual, builder grade means that sound travels very well through the walls. The first night, we had no neighbors but the 2nd night we switched out rooms and the room next to us contained people who didn't go to bed until 1 a.m. I know I'm weird, but when I have an early appointment the next day, I like to sleep before the wee hours of the morning.

We also got assigned to a handicap suite, 301, for our first night. I didn't realize it until we were in the room and unpacked. It's a different layout, with a special shower seat and also a special shower, and a bathroom large enough for a wheelchair. The staff should not put non-handicapped people in that suite, because the shower head cannot be adjusted to a normal height. And you can't even take a bath because the bath plug will not stay closed. We asked the desk staff if we could move and the 2nd night was spent in a regular suite with a regular shower.

Now, here's a really quirky thing - Although the suites are equipped with a full kitchen including an oven, THERE ARE NO UTENSILS, NO POTS, NO PANS, NOTHING with which to cook. Not even a cheap plastic pitcher to put water in! So if you stay here expecting a fully equipped kitchen, you'll be caught needing to buy your own cooking equipment. When I asked about this at the front desk, the very nice young man couldn't really give me an answer but we wondered about theft. Perhaps other suite hotels add the cost of theft into their rates, I don't know. We are a family with food intolerances, so we usually need to cook at least one meal during every trip, sometimes most meals. I'll remember to bring my own things with me next time.

Breakfast - The cold offerings were fine. There was cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, bagels and pastries. There was a waffle machine. The hot offerings were abysmal. Round egg patties and Canadian bacon the first day; biscuits and gravy the 2nd day. There was very little sausage in the gravy and thus, very little flavor. But there were other options so I gave up on it. Don't count on the kind of spread you would get at one of the more upscale suite hotels, with fresh eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. The best quality would be cooking in your own room!

Overall, I would say it's a decent value for money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back *may* be quieter. Bring your own cooking equipment if you plan to use the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumpinjackieflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night in the summer, so no football crowds or families moving students in for the fall.

Our room was very nice, far better than average. The beds seemed new, soft but with a firm support, and very comfortable. The pillows were plump and the bedding looked, felt, and smelled clean as could be. Lights, television, and remote worked great. The remote needed batteries, but the front desk brought some up immediately after we called. There were plenty of outlets to plug in our cell phones, laptop, and i-pad. The room featured two queen beds and a living section with a coffee table and a sofa that pulled out into a bed. The bathroom was clean, well-lit, and the shower flow was amazingly soothing. The room offered a full-size ironing board and iron, a microwave, and a mini-fridge. There was a small closet with a full-size mirror on its door.

The floors are not as solid as they should be. We could hear the people in the room above us as they walked around in their room. It wasn't incredibly loud and didn't interfere with our night's sleep, but when we were awake we could easily hear their movements. Had it been during football season, this floor noise could easily have made it very difficult to sleep.

Breakfast items included a few types of dry cereal, hot oatmeal, breads, biscuits with cream gravy, round sausage patties, scrambled egg circles (pre-shaped, like scrambled egg pancakes), and a self-serve waffle iron with two different flavors of batter: cinnamon or regular. There was an assortment of juices, skim and 2% milk, and different coffees available too.

The staff we interacted with were all very polite, professional, and helpful. They provided a lot of information about the area, how it is on football weekends, what to do or see nearby, and where to shop for specific items. We couldn't imagine a friendlier or more helpful staff.

Room Tip: This hotel is completely non-smoking. NO pets are allowed. If you are bothered by noises of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before dropping my child off to Fish Camp and got a very cheap rate online. Was afraid of what hotel would look like but was pleasantly surprised to see a clean hotel with super friendly staff. The room was very clean and very roomy. The shower was great and bathroom very nice. Hot breakfast was ok. Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Station hotels
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Texas Ave.
Comfort Suites Texas Ave.
#22 of 38 in College Station
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham College Station
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Colle...
#6 of 38 in College Station
775 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, College Station, TX
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#13 of 38 in College Station
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn College Station
Hampton Inn College Station
#16 of 38 in College Station
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton College Station & Conference Center
Hilton College Station & Confere...
#10 of 38 in College Station
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass
Hampton Inn & Suites College Sta...
#12 of 38 in College Station
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Drive

Address: 907 University Dr E, College Station, TX 77840-2118
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in College Station
Price Range: $76 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites College Station
College Station Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing