We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good price. Good breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in College Station
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good price. Good breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed with my family at the Quality Suites in College Station in early October. This appears to be a relatively new hotel, which is located toward the south end of the city.

We selected the hotel based upon price and others' on-line ratings. Overall, I have to give this hotel an average rating.

PROS
Hotel staff & management are extremely nice and eager to please. We were greated warmly upon arrival and then again every time we departed/returned.

The breakfast was good. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffle makers, juices (not in a machine), yogurt, a wide variety of breads and donuts.

Rooms were HUGE. We had two double-queen rooms. The rooms have microwaves and small fridge (did not use). Room has a pull-out sofa in the room, along with executive chair/desk/desk chair, in a sitting area. The room had 4 lamps. I wish that we had had just one room for 5 family members--we would have been easily accommodated. Bathrooms were okay--nothing special.

Free Wi-Fi. However, it was not stable, and dropped about every 15 mins. Very frustrating.

CONS
Location/access. The hotel is located near the far south end of College Station. While everything in B/CS is technically within reasonable driving distance, the hotel wasn't the most convenient place from which to quickly reach the universtiy. We also had some initial frustration trying to get places from hotel.

Room Environment. Room A/C is loud (white noise) and blowing ALL the time. Also, not sure of cause, but both rooms had musty/stale smell. It wasn't over powering, and we ultimately elected not to change rooms. However, we were reminded of this everytime we returned. In one of our rooms, housekeeping had placed a de-humidifier in the room. Not sure why: water in carpet??

Beds/Pillows. Three of the five family members complained that the bed was uncomfortable; the eldest child thought it was the "most awesome bed" he's ever slept on. The pillows are relatively small and kneaded into preferred shape. However, three of us did not like the pillows for this reason, preferring larger/"fluffier" pillows. I suppose it is a matter of preference. In this case, I'm writing, so it is a con.

I haven't stayed in College Station before, so I don't know how this hotel compares to others. However, I will probably try other locations in future UNLESS we are all traveling together (since room accommodates 5).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
10
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is an average, clean, friendly hotel. But you'll fork out $225/night (non-fundable) during any weekend over a football game.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio rancho, new mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend. Paid for the room in cash and still had the identical bill on my credit card! Then...after I left the hotel I was billed AGAIN for another night! Manager had 'no idea' how this happend. Front dest staff very inept at what they need to be doing with the computer system. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had to have a room in College Station for two nights on September 16 and 17 for an event unrelated to the Texas Aggies football frenzy. Unfortunately, we had to pay the price. For a normal, basic suite they jacked the rate from ~$100/night to $225/night and precharged my credit card for the Privilege. I'm told this is normal, accepted practice in the area. I do not find it to be acceptable and will be taking the ChoiceHotels group (Quality, Comfort, Clarion, etc.) off my business travel list. To be fair, the room was fine, although the AC was extremely loud. The facility was clean and relatively new - some of the staff was friendly and helpful, others were less so. Overall the room was worth $100/night, but $225/night? please.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere on Texas A&M game weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevwthw6th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Booked hotel through Hotels.com it was the only room available in College Station so I grabbed it. It turned out to be a nice hotel with comfy clean rooms and a nice breakfast buffet. It is in a good location not far from the mall or the University. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan85leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We've stayed here about 5-6 times and was our go-to hotel, til today. We found a nice little bed bug. The staff were friendly and quick to give us another room. Bed bugs are making a comeback, even in upscale hotels. Do your due diligence and check the mattress borders around the head board and under the sheets with a good flashlight.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalaubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed a week while in town for a girls fastpitch tournament. The price was high for the room and quality of the hotel, but that was typical of all the places in town that week since rooms were sold out everywhere. We all had the Suite rooms with the extra sitting area and that was really nice, especially when we had girls and adults staying together for a week. Hotel staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good. Rooms were kept clean by the housekeeping staff. Hotel parking lot is safe. Pool area was OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler92064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Station hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Texas Ave.
Comfort Suites Texas Ave.
#18 of 35 in College Station
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites University Drive
Comfort Suites University Drive
#21 of 35 in College Station
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Station Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Statio...
#6 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites College Station / US 6-East Bypass
Hampton Inn & Suites College Sta...
#11 of 35 in College Station
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard College Station
Courtyard College Station
#17 of 35 in College Station
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 3610 Highway 6 South, College Station, TX 77845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Suites® is ideally located with easy access from Highway 6, just four miles from Texas A&M University. This College Station, TX hotel is convenient to popular area attractions like the Reed Arena sports and entertainment venue, Texas World Speedway, the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum, Messina Hof Winery and the Brazos Valley Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn College Station
Quality Hotel College Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing