We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Great as We Expected”
Review of Dixie Chicken

Dixie Chicken
Ranked #20 of 270 Restaurants in College Station
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Carthage, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as Great as We Expected”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've heard a lot of buzz about Dixie Chicken in Northgate. One person taking orders with a long line while several "workers" stood behind her talking and laughing with each other. Fajita chicken tacos were good, but the Dixie chicken strips weren't great. Dixie Chicken Northgate looks like a fun place to hang out if you're a college student.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    34
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Classic.....”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is one of the must stops when in College Station, Texas. After checking out to make sure the live rattlesnake ( yes you heard me correctly) was still in the display case by the billiard tables, I ordered the "DeathBurger". Heaven on a bun, but not for the faint of stomach. It was awesome!! Cold beer, good company, and a good burger if this ain't heaven it must be Aggieland! It make me sad to be a yankee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeweyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Yes, surprised. I went here wearing my school colors - you guessed it.... not Texas A&M. The staff and patrons were super nice. Maybe it was because it was June and not on game day. I suspect they are cordial all the time. And they seemed to agree with me that thwir heisman trophy winning quarterback better learn how to run out of bounds this coming season! Good luck Aggirs, unless you are playing my Jayhawks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nostalgia reigns at the Chicken”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You have to realize that the Chicken is a student bar at Texas A&M. That's all that it was ever meant to be. For A&M grads, however, that makes it sacred ground. Where else can you walk through an alley of discarded bottlecaps - some probably going back decades - and push open swinging doors like a saloon of the old west. The food is like any dive bar in America - a little greasy, but in a delicious way. We loved the Tiajuana Fries as an appetizer, and the cheeseburgers for an entree, washed down with Lone Star beer - and yes, they know enough to give you the bottlecap so you can solve the puzzle while enjoying the brew. What a laid-back, relaxed place to spend a little time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whois23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Long Wait on Saturday for lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chicken was good, beer prices by the pitcher were good too. It was a long wait (in line) for placing food orders.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXWeekender_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing