We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service for a single patron”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #61 of 267 Restaurants in College Station
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dallas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bad service for a single patron”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On business so eating alone. Sat in the bar area so I could watch TV, got a drink easy enough. Much harder to get chips and seemed impossible to have my order taken. Finally got fed up and left, got take out at Taco Cabana. A table sitting may have resulted in a completely different review, since I enjoyed on in Houston.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank texaslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This On the Border location has friendly servers and consistently good Mexican food. The outdoor seating area is nice if the weather permits, but on a 100 degree day in July, we opted for the AC!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not So Much!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our waitress (Marilyn) was great but took forever for our food order to get to us. Marilyn was very attentive to our needs (refilling drinks and bringing fresh chips). We each order the lunch special and it took approximately 30 minutes to get it to us and then it was cold! Probably won't be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have tried alot of Mexican restaurants in College Station including the new ones, and we always come back to OTB. They have simple decor. Not loud. Not dark. And we get such great service. The managers pitch in to help wait staff when busy or when there is a problem order. They also will not hesitate to make things right and write-off a bad mistake on their part--you never see this anymore. When we lived in Hawaii for three years before returning, everyone asked us what we missed: OTB! In fact, a friend played a joke on us that it had closed. I called and was so relieved to hear someone answer the phone. OTB has great specials going on year round. Sign up on their websites to get all the great specials. We also believe they have the Best sweet tea!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMP342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmead, Texas, United States
1 review
“Always great food and service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have eaten On the Border since the first one opened in Dallas, TX in the 80's. Food is always good, and the service is great. I eat in the bar, and all of the bartenders are always friendly and fast. I used to travel all the time and have eaten at almost all of them. It's a nice place, and the price is reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

College Station, TX
College Station, TX
 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing