We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First Trip to College Station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express College Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express College Station
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in College Station
Olive Branch
1 review
“First Trip to College Station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location and people was great. The room was average. A few beetles laying in the floor. Bed was average comfort. All in all, good room for the trip. The price was jacked up 4X normal rate for the Alabama vs A&M game. The parking on the back side is horrible. If everyone drove a compact car, it may not be so back, but for anyone that drives a truck of SUV, it was difficult to maneuver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    62
    87
    135
See reviews for
152
26
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

HoJo, take your name off of this property! It did not have bedbugs. It did have roaches. It did have what appeared to be feces on the bathroom door. It did have crickets, and some other bug with which I was not familiar. It did have a quarter inch crack under the door (that we stuffed with a towel) and a smelly dumpster in front of our room. I was awaken at 1:52am by a roach crawling up my neck. It did have mismatched fluorescent lamps over the vanity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Avoid at all costs, The hotel is terrible, management worthless, paint falling off the walls, sheet dirty, food terrible, AC not working, smoke detector broken, The got the reservation wrong, management cares more about being right than taking care of the guest. I reported them to the health department.

Room Tip: Just go some where else. If you stay here you will be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was overall ok. You can tell it is an older place but the rooms were clean and staff nice enough. A bit expensive for what it is but it was late and I didn't want to drive the 5 miles to the next cheaper place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVernia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the worst hotel stay we have ever had. First requested none smoking and I room smelt of smoke so bad. Went to Walmart to buy air freshens. The bed was so uncomfortable and I have bites all over my body. If we could have gotten another room it would have been great but everything was booked. I did not realize that this hotel was so rundown. The sheets and pillows smelt with smoke that my husband and I got up in the middle of the night to sleep in the car. We will never ever stay here again. We have a lot of friends that frequent College Station because I kids are students their. I can guarantee that they will get my feedback and every hotel search site I can find. Never have I experienced such a bad experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Station hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#31 of 35 in College Station
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
Executive Inn and Suites
#32 of 35 in College Station
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard College Station
Courtyard College Station
#17 of 35 in College Station
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
EZ Travel Inn
EZ Travel Inn
#29 of 35 in College Station
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Station Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Statio...
#4 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites College Station South
La Quinta Inn & Suites College S...
#13 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express College Station

Property: Howard Johnson Express College Station
Address: 3702 State Highway 6 S, College Station, TX 77845-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 35 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express College Station 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express College Station Hotel College Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing