We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Blue Baker

Blue Baker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Blue Baker is an artisan bakery cafe serving made-from-scratch breads, pastries, sandwiches, soup, salads, and stone-oven pizza.
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My brother, who lives in College Station, LOOOVES this place. I think it's just okay. The bread is made fresh but it's nothing special, IMO. I had the red pepper soup and it was okay but, oddly, a little greasy or oily and a trifle too fierce in flavor. This place loves to use dried tomatoes...too much. Fine to go here for a quick salad or sandwich and you can sit for a long time without feeling awkward...so that's good. Refillable coffee and fountain drinks

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    91
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

For the most part the food was tasty, but I would skip the new pork sandwich. It's just something they get from a supplier and it is not very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Online gift to our student”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'll be honest up front; I personally have not eaten at Blue Baker. However, I have ordered twice from them. You see, they will take online orders and deliver them to your college student when you yourself may be many miles away. Twice we ordered a sandwich and box of a dozen cookies for our son to enjoy on his birthday. According to our son, in both instances the orders arrived on time, fresh & delicious. It's a good way to celebrate with your kid when you can't be there in person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Okay if that's where you have to eat”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I ate lunch with two other people who enjoyed their meals far better than I did mine; hence the higher rating than I would have given this restaurant. I ordered a chicken salad sandwich on a half croissant. The croissant was tasty, but the chicken salad was horrible. It was like mashed chicken paste, with no onions, celery, or other yummy things mixed in with it. The napkin dispenser is mounted on the wall, so it can be hard to find and they don't put napkins on the trays with your food. Next time, we'll go to Panera or another sandwich shop, but we did give it a try at least.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bread and Sandwiches!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was in College station for a conference, we saw this restaurant and decided to stop in. I had some Italian sandwich that was toasted. It was incredible. The bread at Blue Bakers in awesome. If I'm ever in College Station again - I'll go back to Blue Bakers!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mol8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Baker also viewed

 
College Station, TX
College Station, TX
 

Been to Blue Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing