We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Scary when we drove up and we were hesitant until getting into the room.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in College Station
md
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Scary when we drove up and we were hesitant until getting into the room.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not sure what Marriott corporation was going for here. When we drove up we felt like we were entering a 1970's apartment complex. 2 separate buildings with parking in between. Kudos to Marriott for being non-smoking but the downside is that people loiter around the parking lot smoking and you have to wade through that. If it didn't have the Marriott name on it though, I wouldn't have even checked in from the looks of the place in the dark. The hallways are like a nightmare - I really do think this used to be student housing/apartments from the 70's and Marriott took over the building, because this is like no Marriott designed place I've ever seen or even an old style Residence Inn. But alas, once we survived the retro dark halls and stairwells (with a bag of garbage left at the top of the stairs, 3rd floor) we got into our room and it was fine. If you are used to life in a big city or Marriott properties in Dallas, this will confuse you. But if you can get over the 70's design and old feel, you will be fine here. Clean, no bugs, soft but comfortable beds. I love my Marriott and where else can you get a 2 bedroom unit with 2 queen beds, with a kitchen, you just need to be able to get over the vibe the place gives off. I just felt like I was in married student housing! However, 5 stars to the fact there is no running up and down the hallways and playing elevator tag in this configuration - luckily the baseball/soccer teams with wild kids don't choose a place like this!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from University Blvd. The hot rodders revving the engines and bass thump from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
6
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I liked the room and everything seemed to be updated but the bed. I like a soft bed but this one was to the point where you sunk into a hole in the middle. If not for the be I would have given it 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vice43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Each staff member went above and beyond their duties.....front desk provided milk for my son so we didn't have to make a trip to Wal mart....housekeeping was soooo polite and wonderful! Everyone here did more than expected!! Rooms are great...spacious and clean!!! Will DEFINITELY be coming back!! Just very impressed by the staff at this hotel! This kind of service doesn't exist much anymore...so kudos to staff at Towne Place Suites!! You guys rock!!!:):):)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CadeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very nice room but got very little sleep! Apparently no insulation in the ceiling/floor because footsteps from the people above us kept us awake until almost midnight and then woke us up the next morning. And while I admit the room was nice, it was NOT worth the $355 a night they charge during special events. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here as a last resort ask for a room on the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midwest56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I want to apologize about the noise on your stay at the Towne Place Suites in College Station- Usually, if you call the front desk- our agents can control the noise or can have the opportunity to make the
situation right with you. We would appreciate the opportunity to make this right- if you would allow us
to offer you a free night upon your next visit to College Station- please call the hotel directly to book this.

Again I apologize,

Lynn Barnett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed At the newly renovated TownPlace Suites in College Station this week. Everything in the rooms have been replaced and updated. Stainless appliances as well as a very comfortable bed. Mangers reception Mon and Wed from 5 to 730 with free food, beer and wine. Great staff and great location. Might be the best value for the money in town.

Room Tip: Stay in building were check in is. The other is close to a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed the "apartment" feeling of the space. We rented a 2-bedroom unit. We did not use the kitchen or the fridge but those amenities were nice. Newer facility located on main drag close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The whole set up feels like an apartment complex. The lobby is very minimal. The breakfast is adequate but in a small-ish space. Staff was friendly. The pool also is very small--not a place for lounging really. They allow pets which is likely a major selling point for some. The beds were not super comfortable; that's our only complaint. The pullout sofa was not great, as expected, but it was really more of a love seat than a full couch. We only slept one there as planned but this might say "sleeps 6" which would be tough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyinsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Met most of my needs: clean, convenient, nice staff, usual amenities, etc. The room was spacious, but the layout was kind of strange.

The only thing I didn't really care for was the breakfast. The breakfast room was way too small for the size of the hotel and there weren't many food choices

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Station hotels
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton College Station
Home2 Suites by Hilton College S...
#1 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, College Station
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#8 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham College Station
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Colle...
#7 of 35 in College Station
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton College Station
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colleg...
#2 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Bryan College Station
Residence Inn Bryan College Stat...
#9 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada College Station
Ramada College Station
#3 of 35 in College Station
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station

Property: TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station
Address: 1300 University Dr E, College Station, TX 77840-2125
Location: United States > Texas > College Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in College Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your TownePlace Suites Bryan College Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites College Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing