We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Really Good Texas BBQ”
Review of Bunkhouse Barbeque

Bunkhouse Barbeque
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Clifton
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Really Good Texas BBQ”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I LOVE their ribs, but all their meats are great. This is one of the few places I know to get fried green tomatoes. Fried pickles are great too. We regularly get takeout from Bunkhouse to serve to guests.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanad813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Real Texas barbeque - yum!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is real, real good barbeque and everything that goes with it is real good, too. Friendly service. Not fancy here, but good food with a smile.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAmericaNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty, tender brisket.”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I eat at Bunkhouse on my frequent motorcycle trips through this area. The brisket is very tender and tastes great. I frequently ride to Clifton just to have their BBQ. My last trip was 10/2/2010 and to date I have never had "stringy" BBQ here. Don't miss this restaurant if you"re in Clifton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoWheelTraveler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place- have every time I am in TX.”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Have relatives near here- ALWAYS eat here when in town! Brisket is not real smoky as other review said but very good! Good service and sides too! A must-try in Clifton!! They also have a DRIVE-THRU****

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakerat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good average food”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

As mentioned in previous reviews, the brisket does not have a strong smoked-meat flavor - this could be the preference of some folks. The serving portions are certainly generous and prices are about average for BBQ. Overall average food in a homey, Texas atmosphere. No beer served (sadly). We've been a few times when in town and wouldn't hesitate to visit again, but would not make a dedicated trip just to eat here. (Avoid the pork loin)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CenTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunkhouse Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Bunkhouse Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing