We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Quality is in the Details!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cleburne
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Texas
1 review
“The Quality is in the Details!”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I’ve stayed at the Liberty this summer and was so impressed that we came back for Thanksgiving while visiting family. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a comfortable upscale place to stay. I’m a mom with two kids and come from a background in interior design so what impresses me is pretty rare. The attention to detail in this hotel is also rare. Bottom line, the beds are comfortable with loads of pillows, the swivel flat screen tv is huge and the rooms are quiet and it has the all of the expected iron/board, blowdryer and coffee maker amenities. What I love about this hotel is the luxury features and the quality. I’ve stayed in some high end luxury hotels over the years and this one is right up there! Who knew Cleburne had such a gem?
We stayed in the Deluxe Double Queen rooms both times. The rooms were similar but different in furnishings. When we entered the room to check it out, there were a pair of soft white robes for our use sitting on the beds, love that! The furniture was mahogany wood with REAL granite tops. The beds had tall mahogany headboards with footboards and sideboards…not the typical hotel headboard mounted to the wall. The bedding was a custom comforter and coordinated with the window treatments. All FIVE windows had custom roman shades framed with luxurious panels and swags. The colors in the hotel and rooms are rich chocolate browns and soft spa blues balanced with a warm cream color. The carpets throughout the hallways have beautiful patterns, even the elevators had square medallion patterns. …but the carpet in the rooms was a cream color with blue scrolls that was soooo soft. And as a mom with a 2 year old, I loved that the thermostat was on the wall, out of reach, and no a/c units under the windows for him to climb.
This summer we had a gorgeous chenille sofa, this last trip we had a custom English arm side chair with ottoman. We also had a round table with two upholstered chairs and a separate desk with it’s own chair(see pictures). The bath was furnished with a granite countertop sink and oil rubbed bronze fixtures. The standup shower had a shower seat and a removable shower head which made showering my two year old a breeze. The towels were a real nice thick ribbed white towel. Even the RUSK salon brand lotion, shampoo, conditioner and body washs were a perfect matching blue color and they melled great too! Our room had a mini fridge hidden neatly in the tv cabinet. I was surprised to see colid core wood doors on all the doors, even the closet doors! It’s no wonder why the rooms were quiet.
Breakfast was included and had waffles, fruit, cereal, milk and juices, muffins/bagels/toast, oatmeal. The breakfast room is also well appointed with custom window treatments, cast iron/granite tables and comfortable arm chairs. What made breakfast a treat was there was no plastic utensils or foam plates in site! Real plates and silverware made cutting up the waffles a breeze and drinking from glass always tastes better in my opinion. This last trip was busy at breakfast but the lady who tended to breakfast kept everything well stocked!
I didn’t make it to the workout room however it looked nice and I saw antibacterial wipes on all of the machines. We did make use of one of the meeting rooms to have a birthday party for my daughter and it too have gorgeous carpet and drapes. On both trips we ate at the restaurant next door, Caddo Street Grill. It was good too.

This hotel did a great job of preserving its downtown historical character with its furnishings, carpets and window coverings but gave a modern updated feel with the color combinations and real furniture. It’s a very comfortable hotel. I’ll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerMomma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
49
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

After seeing this hotel in the paper I decided to give it a try. Took my wife there for a one night get a way and it did not disappoint. From the lobby to the crown molding in the room, every thing was first class. There seems to be no expense spared and no detail overlooked when they remodeled this old hotel; though they did modernize the hotel they kept the charm of it with the décor. The restaurant next door was very nice and the play house across the street was fantastic. It was definitely worth the small extra expense to stay in a hotel such as this one over staying in a run of the mill chain hotel. My wife is very picky and she was so blown away we are planning on coming back with a large party in a few months. Thank you Orbitz for having a wonderful little place like this one on your list of hotels we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Liberty was a pleasant surprise. What a jewel! The hotel and staff created sophisticated elegance on a small town square. Terry bathrobes and complimentary borttled water were nice touches, as was the whimsical Texas-shaped waffle iron at breakfast The Grill next door provided good food, drinks, and an entertaining band.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryGWaxhaw_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Tx
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

You can expect to be pampered when staying at the Liberty Hotel. Recently renovated, the Liberty offers comfortable elegance at very reasonable rates. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay and does so with a smile on their face.

Take an opportunity to explore this part of Texas and come back and relax at the Liberty.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIwerestitching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I wanted a place to stay that would treat my family right, make us feel relaxed & as important as the next person. That’s exactly what I got here, very relaxing rooms, comfortable beds, great pool, soft robes, & service you can't beat. Great restaurant next door & great atmosphere. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysacowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This hotel just opened a few months ago, and I've already stayed twice in one of their Deluxe Suites. The lobby with its beautifully-restored period details takes you back to a more gracious era. The rooms are spacious, with elegant furnishings and lots of special touches. The staff goes above and beyond to pamper their guests; where else can you find the manager making waffles (in the shape of Texas, no less!) as part of your free continental breakfast?!

It's the perfect get-away spot, just an hours's drive from Dallas. Through September, the hotel is running a special, and all the rooms are $69 a night. It's the deal of the century! The Liberty Hotel is right around the corner from the historic Johnson County Courthouse. The downtown area has great restaurants (Caddo Street Grill and Lemon Sister's tea room to name a few), lots of antique malls, and a first-class needlework shop.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawaysRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This was a great place to spend a night away from the kid. My wife and I stayed here one Friday night for our 10th anniversary. The hotel is a well done mix of old charm and modern features. The room was spotless, the towels were thick and huge, and the bath robe was luxurious. Don't expect to do laps in the pool but it is fine to relax in. We booked online for best rate available. We noticed an ad on the front counter of the Caddo Street Grill next door (same owners as the Liberty) for a special lower rate. We mentioned that to the young ladies working the desk at checkout and with some computer editing gave us the lower rate. Request a room on the east side of the hotel. It will be quieter. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleburne
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleburne
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleburne
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Way Inn Cleburne
Best Way Inn Cleburne
#4 of 14 in Cleburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
22.0 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 205 S Caddo St, Cleburne, TX 76031-5504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cleburne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cleburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Johnson County's most luxurious hotel. The historic Liberty Hotel originally opened in 1924. It was completely renovated and reopened in 2009. We offer not just a clean room but deliver an experience with the elegance of the past and the luxuries of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liberty Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing