We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
133
66
14
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
66
14
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe walmart parking lotroom was cleancinnamon rollssleeper sofafrom texasnewer hotelgreat stoproad tripthe breakfast areanew mexicofront desk staffovernight staystaff was friendlystayed one nightpleasant stayrooms are largevery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 228 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Being a seasoned traveler, I travel with a firearm, and to see the anti-gun notice on the entryway was a real turn-off. I ignored it, of course, as I trust only myself to protect myself, and would never rely on desk clerks or even local PD's to insure my safety. That being said, the facility was clean and well-maintained, although the air freshener in the hallway was overpowering. It was quiet there, but the sheets were deemed "clingy" by my wife and there were so much so, that they interfered with her sleep. There was one danger in the room, and that was an archway separating the living area from the sleeping area. It was low enough to crack one's skull if you weren't watching for it and could have been a real bell-ringer in the dark. I moved a chair out to partially block a possible collision preferring a bruised shin to a cracked coconut.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Hi Terry S,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the cleanliness and maintenance of our hotel. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our bed sheets and the room layout among the others. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that we would have another chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Friendly reception, received quiet room on top floor as requested. Newer hotel, located in sufficient distance from highway so that car noise is not an issue. Contemporary design throughout. Clean room with HD TV, though walking around barefoot on the carpet makes your soles black. Steam cleaning needed. Usual HIX buffet breakfast, well presented and attentive staff. will be back for an overnighter when hauling north.

Room Tip: top floor (3rd)
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly, easy check in and out. Housekeeping staff very courteous and friendly, good breakfast the lady attending breakfast bar was so nice. Hotel is next to a WalMart in case you forget something on your trip. Room was quiet so we had a good rest. Room was clean but hotel needs some updating, carpet had a slight "old smell" might have been due to cigarette smoke. The bathroom was clean but tile grout needs attention and shower is a little rusty, worn, just needs updating thank goodness it was clean.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony07Marcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I am getting excited we are up for our PIP, which is our upgrade in 2018. I hope once all the renovations are done you will come back and see the changes. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

No problems. Room was clean and up to date. Staff was friendly. Hotel was located some distance from highway, so road noise was not a problem. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. No negatives; nothing to set it apart.

Not a destination, but a good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JasShreveport_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

From checkin to checkout, the staff was courteous. We found our room to be very clean and spacious. When traveling with kids, suites are so appreciated, even simple ones like this with a small sitting area apart from the beds. Kids loved the pool, and there is a small fitness room next to the pool.
The breakfast was well stocked, with a nice eating area. Felt very safe. The driveway is actually through the Walmart parking lot, which has nothing to do with our experience, just a little tip to help travelers find their turn. As most Holiday Inns, this one had no surprises, and we left well-rested and well-fed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexTrav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews