We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
133
66
14
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
66
14
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe walmart parking lotroom was cleancinnamon rollssleeper sofafrom texasnewer hotelgreat stoproad tripthe breakfast areanew mexicofront desk staffovernight staystaff was friendlystayed one nightpleasant stayrooms are largevery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 228 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly, easy check in and out. Housekeeping staff very courteous and friendly, good breakfast the lady attending breakfast bar was so nice. Hotel is next to a WalMart in case you forget something on your trip. Room was quiet so we had a good rest. Room was clean but hotel needs some updating, carpet had a slight "old smell" might have been due to cigarette smoke. The bathroom was clean but tile grout needs attention and shower is a little rusty, worn, just needs updating thank goodness it was clean.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony07Marcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I am getting excited we are up for our PIP, which is our upgrade in 2018. I hope once all the renovations are done you will come back and see the changes. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

No problems. Room was clean and up to date. Staff was friendly. Hotel was located some distance from highway, so road noise was not a problem. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. No negatives; nothing to set it apart.

Not a destination, but a good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JasShreveport_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

From checkin to checkout, the staff was courteous. We found our room to be very clean and spacious. When traveling with kids, suites are so appreciated, even simple ones like this with a small sitting area apart from the beds. Kids loved the pool, and there is a small fitness room next to the pool.
The breakfast was well stocked, with a nice eating area. Felt very safe. The driveway is actually through the Walmart parking lot, which has nothing to do with our experience, just a little tip to help travelers find their turn. As most Holiday Inns, this one had no surprises, and we left well-rested and well-fed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexTrav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Saturday night and the Holiday Inn Express in Childress was completely full! Apparently this is pretty common in the summer with vacation travellers coming through so reservations are recommended! This location is pet friendly ($25 pet fee) and there were quite a number of well behaved dogs staying there.
Thanks TA reviewers for alerting me to the fact that access to this property seems like driving through the Walmart parking lot. I had no issues at all after seeing that advice.

While other reviewers thought HI Express/Childress was priced reasonably, I thought $100/night was a bit more than I would expect for this brand in a rural location but, I guess, it's because they can.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We stayed here on our way home from Wyoming and of every place we stayed on our trip I would rate this as the best night's stay we had. The room was clean, spacious and laid out well. Even though it is beside a Wal-Mart this hotel is quiet and the parking lot is not part of the Wal-Mart parking lot. The hotel is far enough off the road that you don't have road noise outside your window. The bed's were very comfortable and the breakfast was by far the best we had on our trip. I will stay here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeAnna C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, for choosing to stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews