We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Childress
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“September 2013”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Access to this hotel is confusing because you cannot access the hotel from the main street. Access to the hotel is through the Walmat parking lot. Turn into the Walmat parking lot and the access is to the right. Road curves around to the hotel. Pets are allow (saw a very large dog being walled through the lobby). Rooms were fresh and clean. Professional staff at hotel. Breakfast was very good , hot and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashell w, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your directions to our property. We try hard to make sure guest know how to find us. We are glad you found us to be clean and friendly. We hope to see you the next time you pass through Childress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    57
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
80
64
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
895 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Time Hasn't changed my opinion of this hotel. It's an oasis to break up a trip thru here. If you are coming from Colorado or Santa Fe, this is where to stop before pushing to Dallas area. If you go father, you won have these options, especially hotel. This is busy, but quiet. Rooms still fresh and clean, and the staff actually cares about their job and your comfort. It's perfect, inexpensive and free wifi and breakfast...freshly made and kept replenished. I know I can rest and enjoy the stop here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CliveWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashell w, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review of our hotel and our city. Childress does have some wonderful places to eat. We are glad you had a good stay with us. We try very hard to please all our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Driving from Santa Fe to Dallas was a bit too lengthy so we used trip advisor to find a quaint town with restaurants and clean rooms.
We booked directly with holiday inn and was pleasantly surprised by the facility and town, just lovely.
The staff is a+ the free breakfast delicious and hot. Access is through Walmart parking
Thanks trip advisor

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diindestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston County Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Childress is half way between our home and a vacation in the Colorado Rockies. Two years ago when we stayed here, I would have rated this motel a five, an oasis in the middle of the desert. While clean, this trip, it did not have the previous shine. The breakfast, while serving the standard HIE fare, was lacking in service. While there appeared to be two attendants, someone was constantly looking for them to refill coffee containers, restart the pancake machine, etc. Yes, the wifi was slow. Thankfully my 4g phone is a great hot spot.

The problem, in my opinion, is illustrated, by our return to the motel from supper. It was difficult to find a parking place as they were taken by all the oil field workers staying at the motel. It seems they may be more profitable that the traveling guest.

The bed was comfortable .. we slept well (with the bathroom fan running .. we were next to the south end door that was banging by individuals going in and out), the TV worked well in the evening, but a morning storm took the satellite out continuously. Since we travel this route often, I may check out the Hampton Inn on the next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear GulfTX,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found our bed accommodations to be comfortable. I apologize however for the parking condition and Internet service that inconvenienced you. We take all feedback seriously and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Childress exceeded our expectations. For starters, the staff at the front desk upgraded our room upon receiving our reservation, realizing that we had booked a room that was too small for our family. Check-in was quick and easy, and the rooms were well-appointed.

The only negative thing I have to say about our stay here is that the breakfast attendants were sub-par. Trash was overflowing, food was not refilled quickly, and the manager had to come and refill the silverware (upon being asked) because the breakfast attendants had failed to do so.

All in all, though, it is a great place, and I would highly recommend this as a great place to spend a night.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor, back facing room had absolutely no noise, in spite of the fact that we were next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingOCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, TX
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was your typical Holiday Inn Express. Not sure why but it took forever to pull up and read anything on our computer and I pad. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.
It is important to note that the only entrance to the hotel is through the Walmart parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldweatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Childress, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear coldweatherman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a good place to stay for one night while driving the Texas Panhandle. It's clean and quiet, which is what you want in a hotel. The staff is very friendly an helpful. The only drawback, and it's minor, is that the entrance is through the Walmart parking lot. Walmart allows tractor trailers to park on their lot also. So, be careful when driving through them to the hotel. This will not keep me from returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Childress hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Childress
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Childress
Days Inn Childress
#4 of 9 in Childress
253 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Childress
Super 8 Childress
#3 of 9 in Childress
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Childress
Red Roof Inn Childress
#6 of 9 in Childress
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
American Inn and Suites
American Inn and Suites
#7 of 9 in Childress
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Childress
Econo Lodge Childress
#9 of 9 in Childress
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Childress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Childress

Property: Holiday Inn Express Childress
Address: 3001 Avenue F NW, Childress, TX 79201-2233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Childress
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Childress 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Childress, Texas-Gateway to the future. You will find the charm of this small town just the perfect place to stop while traveling from Wichita Falls or Amarillo, Texas. Childress is also on the direct route of Hwy 287 which will carry you to and from Canada and Mexico. Talk about a scenic route! Take some time during your visit to enjoy Baylor Lake which is located about 9 miles NW of the hotel which is known for great bass fishing! Take a stroll over the walking bridge across Fair Park Lake or walk around on the trails along the lake. Visit the historic Downtown District and shop for some great antiques! Bring extra room in your truck! Our business partners will enjoy the convenience of our location to Childress Regional Medical Center, TDCJ- T.L. Roach Unit, Super Wal-Mart, B3R Country Meats, and Childress District Office of TXDOT. Our business travelers will also enjoy our larger than life suites with spacious work desk and wired and wireless high-speed Internet. We look forward to serving you while staying in Childress, Texas. So Stay Smart and enjoy the Smart Features of our beautifully appointed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Childress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Childress Hotel Childress

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing