We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Childress
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stay here regularly on our way to our daughter's. Hotel is always clean and staff is always courteous and friendly. This year the hotel appeared to be close to maximum guests. And even so, hotel was well equipped and quiet.

Breakfast was well supplied and fairly typical of HIE breakfast. Because the hotel is slightly removed from the highway, we always feel confident that our vehicle is safe and in a secure spot.
We happily will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We got a king suite and it was big!! The room was clean, ac could, tv big with lots of channels. Breakfast was good. Just a great place to stay will driving long distances. I will come back here again if traveling this way. I will recommend this to others as well. Try to make a reservation if you can, they have big rodeo events here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is fairly new and for the most part, our stay was very nice. The room was very clean and well thought out, the bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet. The breakfast was just OK, not a lot of variety, but OK. Our biggest disappointment was the fitness room. There were two treadmills and one bike. None of the equipment worked, evidently the power to the room was off. When we reported it to the desk, the person there was not very interested. She did not know what was wrong, and evidently that was her total answer. We did get some exercise by walking - the hotel is set quite a ways off the road and there was very little traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowboyBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. Childress is not a tourist mecca. This hotel is a welcome stop between Amarillo and Witchita Falls, the 2 more likely places to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charben57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Booked a king suite - and the room was huge - the bed area was down the window end then there was an archway with a settee there. Unfortunately for the second night in a row we ended up with a view of the entrance arch out the window - not a big deal though if you are just here to sleep. We were a bit worried as we arrived at the room as we were next to the lift as well as the vending and ice machines that were all quite noisy - however as the room was so big and the room at the far end we couldn't here anything. However, in the morning everyone decided to have loud conversations at the motel entrance that did disturb us a bit as we wanted a lie in.

The pool was clean and fairly warm. The hot tub was also clean and hot which was good and there were plenty of towels.

The entrance is via the Walmart car park but if you follow the instructions they give on the website its no problem. We did get entertained for a few minutes while we were packing the car to leave by a semi truck that decided to come down the motel road and then realise that it had gone wrong...after several reversing attempts he just put his foot down and hammered up the grassy bank - quite impressive in such a large vehicle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotentialVorticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week & it was good then & good for this week's too. The service was friendly. The rooms were clean. There is only one thing that is funky but can't be changed. It is awkward to get to. One has to go thru the Walmart parking lot to get to the entrance of the hotel. The bacon was over cooked too, but everything else was good, standard Holiday Inn.

Thank Crocmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Traveling across country with dogs, you never know where you're going to end up at the end of the day, and if where you end up will have a decent place to stay, AND if that place will accept pets. We were a little dubious about finding both of those things in such a small panhandle town as Childress, but are delighted to say that the Holiday Inn Express was clean and comfortable AND welcoming of our dogs, with a $25 pet fee. The hotel sits in a sort of field away from other buildings--execpt that you have to drive through the Walmart parking lot to get there--so it's quiet and has plenty of room to walk the dogs. The room was large and comfy, and the staff was super friendly. You get your choice of a snack (candy/chips) plus free bottled water and cookies on check-in. The free breakfast was better than most, with scrambled eggs and sausage and, of course, biscuits and gravy available. My only minor quibble is that the pillows were a little on the puny side. One note for travelers to Childress: If you plan to stay in Childress on a Sunday, eat first! Every restaurant recommended on Trip Advisor was closed on Sunday. Your choices, then, are Pizza Hut, Subway, and (I believe) Sonic. All in all, though, the Holiday Inn Express was a pleasant surprise.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Childress hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Childress
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Childress
Days Inn Childress
#2 of 9 in Childress
281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Childress
Super 8 Childress
#4 of 9 in Childress
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Childress
Red Roof Inn Childress
#6 of 9 in Childress
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Childress
Econo Lodge Childress
#9 of 9 in Childress
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
American Inn and Suites
American Inn and Suites
#7 of 9 in Childress
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Childress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Childress

Address: 3001 Avenue F NW, Childress, TX 79201-2233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Childress
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Childress
Price Range: $95 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Childress 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Childress, Texas-Gateway to the future. You will find the charm of this small town just the perfect place to stop while traveling from Wichita Falls or Amarillo, Texas. Childress is also on the direct route of Hwy 287 which will carry you to and from Canada and Mexico. Talk about a scenic route! Take some time during your visit to enjoy Baylor Lake which is located about 9 miles NW of the hotel which is known for great bass fishing! Take a stroll over the walking bridge across Fair Park Lake or walk around on the trails along the lake. Visit the historic Downtown District and shop for some great antiques! Bring extra room in your truck! Our business partners will enjoy the convenience of our location to Childress Regional Medical Center, TDCJ- T.L. Roach Unit, Super Wal-Mart, B3R Country Meats, and Childress District Office of TXDOT. Our business travelers will also enjoy our larger than life suites with spacious work desk and wired and wireless high-speed Internet. We look forward to serving you while staying in Childress, Texas. So Stay Smart and enjoy the Smart Features of our beautifully appointed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Childress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Childress Hotel Childress

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing