We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sausage!!”

Chappell Hill Bakery & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for sausage!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Driving from Austin to Houston on the 290, we stopped at the restaurant, excellent food, excellent beer (St Arnold's) excellent ice cream, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to rest and eat”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stopped in for a break and ended up buying desserts, jerky and breakfast for the next day! Everything was great and would recommend.... one strange thing was they had no Chappell Hill sausage for sale. You think they would support the local people? Still a great place to rest your driving skills and fill up on food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justllooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After reading the reviews, we decided to stop by for lunch on our drive home. I'm so glad we did! Everything we had was great and very well priced. The food was fresh, and everything was clean and welcoming. We ate BBQ sandwiches with green beans and a side of potatoes. I am picky about my cue, but it was well cooked with just the right amount of sauce. We also got some sausage kolaches to go-- those were delicious, and I wished we had gotten more. I also wish we had bought pie- the merengue pies looked delicious- I guess we will have to head back to CH to find out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LGsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran, Kansas
1 review
“Must not miss this!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This little spot is always a must stop and eat. Food is very good and portions are generous. Sides are fresh, whole meal is a great value. Do your self a favor and don't miss out on a great meal! I only wish they were not 650 miles away from my home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsdxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a winner!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Always something new and wonderful to try. Large BBQ menu and all are pleaders with good portions. Sides are fresh, BBQ sauce is my favorite anywhere and rolls are great. In house bakery is a real gem. I get the day old packages (I need more!) and they are always wonderful for breakfast treats the next couple days. Their meat market products are as fresh as you can get and the specialty local canned goods and nuts are nice too. Topping it all off is their big Blue Bell selection and big dips of ice cream. This place has got the complete package and never fails to more-than-satisfy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSimpleLife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chappell Hill Bakery & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Chappell Hill Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing