We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“shabby chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakefield Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chappell Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wakefield Farms
Save
You added Wakefield Farms to your Saves list
601 Pulawski School Ln, P.O. Box 533, Chappell Hill, TX 77426-6385   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“shabby chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're looking to get way out of the city, this is the place to be. Quiet and quaint, quaint, quaint! Goats, sheep, dogs & ponies roam the grounds. Bluebonnets are in full bloom. Just beautiful! Stay in the Saltbox cottage - great little place for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: stay in teh Saltbox cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

3 of us went to see the wildflowers recently and wanted to stay in the Chappell Hill area. Wakefield Farms offered a Greek Festival House which had a hallway with 2 seperate accommondations on each side..........one master w/bath and a parlor; the other, a master w/bath. Both had flat screen TV's and every thing you could have wanted or needed. They were beautifully done with great beds and linens. We never saw the owners but were in touch with Susan. They raise Boer goats and sheep there so it was a lovely view out "in the middle of nowhere".

Room Tip: There are only 2 seperate houses to choose from but they do split up the Greek House if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloom77373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The location of Wakefield Farms is perfect. The historic buildings have been re-claimed by the owner Susan. Looking for easy access to wineries, antiques and more? Wakefield Farms in historic Chappell Hill is a great place to experience modern luxuries. You will enjoy the serene setting as you lounge by the pool, drink wine and enjoy the open space.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Extravaganza002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this charming unhosted bed & breakfast with our son & daughter-in-law last weekend. We wanted a relaxed, comfortable getaway close to Houston, and found it – and more – at the Greek Revival Farmhouse at Wakefield Farms, about an hour west of Houston. The property is in the country outside Chappell Hill, quiet and remote, yet only 15 minutes from the shops and restaurants of Brenham. After spending a rainy afternoon in Brenham, the solitude and charm of Wakefield Farms was a delight.

The Greek Revival Farmhouse is an elegantly-restored farmhouse with two suites, one of which has a parlor. We reserved both and had the house to ourselves. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Each spacious room has a large bathroom with jetted tub, complete with luxurious robes. (The bathroom in the larger suite has a jetted tub without a shower – I was okay with that, but my wife would have liked a shower.) The beds were wonderful – firm but super comfortable – we all slept very well. The parlor has a large sofa and two soft and comfortable leather chairs and was a wonderful place to spend the evening with our “kids”. Both rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave and a table set for two, and were stocked with continental breakfast fare (fresh fruit, yogurt, a large muffin, orange juice and coffee). Each also had two large chocolate bars, a nice touch (too bad our very pregnant daughter-in-law couldn’t have sweets!) There were also bowls of apples and small chocolate bars and bottled water in silver ice buckets. Every touch, from the food to the decor, was perfect.

We really appreciated the combination of intimacy and independence the house afforded. We and our kids enjoyed spending time together visiting, yet each couple could get up in the morning and have breakfast when we wanted. While we never met the innkeepers, they were available by phone.

We also appreciated the three beautiful cats who greeted us on the porch as we came and went (they're not allowed indoors) and seeing the goats and dogs in the pasture.

The innkeepers request a minimum two-night stay on weekends. We only wanted one night, and since they weren’t booked, that’s what we requested. My only complaint is an upcharge was added for the one-night stay, which wasn’t explained when I made the reservation. The stay was worth it to me, but it might not be okay with others.

That said, we had a wonderful getaway that met or surpassed our every expectation! Well done! I hope to return in the fall when my son and daughter-in-law will surely need a get away from both Houston and their sure-to-be-delightful daughter!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chappell Hill
6.1 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 10 in Brenham
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Brenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brenham
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Brenham
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Dos Brisas
The Inn at Dos Brisas
#1 of 1 in Washington
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakefield Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakefield Farms

Property: Wakefield Farms
Address: 601 Pulawski School Ln, P.O. Box 533, Chappell Hill, TX 77426-6385
Location: United States > Texas > Chappell Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chappell Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit us at our historic bed and breakfast just a stones throw away from the Blue Bell Ice Cream factory and around the corner from the Bluebonnet Festival in Chappell Hill, you will enjoy luxurious Ralph Lauren linens when tucked under the covers! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing