We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love having it closer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kim Phung Restaurant - CLOSED

Kim Phung Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love having it closer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I used to eat weekly at the Lamar location before I moved north of Austin. This location opening was a dream come true. All kinds of menu options, but the spring rolls are the best I've ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brettlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exciting new place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I remember with Kim Phung opened in Cedar Park about 2005. Of course, clean because it was new; food great! I admit that I haven't eaten there in about 3 years since moving further away. But last week, I was back in that area, and decided to have lunch there. At first, when I walked in, everything looked the same. After sitting on the booth side, I noticed how worn, and filthy the upholstery was! Down right dirty! I moved to the other side of the table to get off the upholstery. While waiting for my order, I had my arm resting on the top of the chair next to me. When I moved, the hair on my arm literally stuck to the top of the chair. Grimy, sticky furniture. When my Po came, it looked the same as before, although lacked a lot of flavor that I remembered. Or was it because I was so turned off because of the lack of cleanleness? Will I go back, Hell no!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We drive from San Antonio to eat here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The owners are amazing. The service is always personal. The food is great and the portions are extreme. If you have never tried Vietnamese food, this is a great place to start. Please come to San Antonio and own a restaurant. Char grilled pork and vermicelli noodle and egg rolls (delicious). Pho Ga, (very good).

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kknkrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
“Terrible service & food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a terrible dinner Wednesday night. It took 30 minutes to get our drink order, water. It took an hour for our cold spring rolls to be served. When I complained to the hostess/manager, I could not understand what she was saying other than no tip and sorry. They spent the next 20 minutes touching me saying sorry. It was very upsetting especially when they chose to bill me for the whole thing in lieu of comping us for at least the appetizers. The food was poor. I'm never going there again. What a dump!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraMoroSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Grilled Pork in Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been hard pressed to find better grilled pork in Austin! The bowls are my favorite - pork and egg roll but their Pho is also top notch. The staff are some of the nicest folks I've ever dealt with.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jha4pres08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim Phung Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing