We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average All You Can Eat”
Review of Babe's Chicken

Babe's Chicken
Ranked #3 of 102 Restaurants in Cedar Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
DFW
Level Contributor
176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average All You Can Eat”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

All the food is good, but mostly non-remarkable. The potatoes are instant which I have never quite gotten past!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    57
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food and Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The food is great--particularly the vegetables. My only reason for not giving it five stars is that it is LOUD! It is usually quite busy, but the wait to be seated has never been long. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good - better attention to large parties”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Babe's in Cedar HIll has more to choose from - riibs, catfish, pot roast, chicken fried steak, chicken tenders, fired chicken and smoked chicken all yummy, yummy, yummy! Not all locations have the same menu beyond the basic chicken and this one has desserts too! We were a large party and everyone enjoyed their food. My issue is that 2 bowls of a side were brought at a time. So, everyone basically got a small spoonful before it was all gone and we had to wait for more. I don't know it is's poor planning in the kitchen or what. If you are a large party, make sure to ask for enough sides to start with for everyone to be served. Green beans, mashed potatoes and gravy, biscuits and honey - I am making myself hungry!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoundWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Family style vittles with entertainment by the wait staff featuring old time music. Both the fried and smoked chicken are delicious. The chicken fried steak was good, but I have better in Texas. The staff is always friendly and engaging.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sigmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do the Hokie Pokie”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The roasted chicken is delicious. The catfish wonderful. and the sides just keep coming. Be sure to ask your waitress to do the Hokie Pokie. That's my grandkids favorite part.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Babe's Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing