We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in Lost Pines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost in Lost Pines”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were part of a wedding party, so did not get to take in all of the amenities of the property. The drive into the property transports you to a relaxing, exotic vacation. Our room was big, but very comfortable. All of the staff from front door to housekeeping were trained in Texas charm and service. The food was outstanding. It was an all-around wonderful weekend and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I recommend a ground floor room with a porch to walk out into nature and the grounds, which are beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello! We are delighted that wedding bell bliss brought you to our resort for a getaway. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the amenities. We will be certain to let the staff know their "Texas charm" made a lasting impression. It was our pleasure to host you, and we would be delighted to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    577
    239
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,017
409
41
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Property. A beautiful sprawling village set along the banks of the Colorado River. Grounds are vast and include pool area, sports areas for tennis, basketball, soccer, etc., walking trails, golf course, livestock areas, and much more. Full service spa. Pet-friendly. Really couldn't ask for anything more. 5 out of 5.

Accommodations. Rooms are very large and comfortable, even for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. All the usual modern amenities. Hotel has a hill country western feel, but still a modern hotel. There are at least 4 or 5 restaurants, a convenience store with ice cream and Starbucks, and a gift shop. All rooms have balconies. Ours overlooked a courtyard/field which kids and adults used for tossing balls, flying kites, etc. We asked for a room near an elevator, since we have little ones, but apparently the closest we could get was at the end of two very long hallways. An additional $25 fee covered self-parking and wifi, which was solid throughout the resort. 4 out of 5.

Hospitality. Everyone we encountered on the staff was friendly and courteous, just like a resort should be. Staff graciously comped our valet parking after not being able to locate our keys quickly enough (they found them after only a few minutes). 5 out of 5.

Activities. There is literally so much to do at this resort that it almost takes a day or so to figure it all out. Everything from free bike rentals to s'mores to arts/crafts to sports. Everything geared toward young families with children but plenty of adult activities as well. Simply too much to list here. The pool area is awesome, with one side of the pool banked with sand like a beach. There is a lazy river but the water was freezing, compared to the pool which is heated to near-bath temperatures.

Some activities require advance reservations and fees, while others are scheduled but free and open for everyone. If there was one area of our stay that could use improvement, it was the activities. There is a central activity station where you go to make your reservations. When we arrived, we went straight there and were told everything was booked solid for the next several days (since we were visiting during Spring Break, we had called ahead before our stay to make arrangements but were never able to reach a live person). After about an hour of fudging and squeezing in, the staff managed to get us into reservations for rock wall/zip-line, horseback, and kayaking, each on separate days. In fact, in rained on the day for horseback riding, so that activity was canceled by the resort. In addition, we found it somewhat difficult to figure out what each activity entailed - there are no descriptions, only titles like "sand art," "log roll," and "neon party." While the activities were all fun and worth the extra cost, we were completely at the mercy of what was available - not necessarily the times/days that we wanted to go, and weren't able to do everything we had expected to do. More organization is needed here. 3 out of 5.

Food. There are 4 or 5 restaurants offering different types of atmosphere and themes each night. We had purchased the breakfast package and only later discovered that it is only valid at one of the restaurants. So we ended up paying for Day 1 breakfast out of pocket. Kind of disappointing there, and this could have been made clearer. We ate most of our meals at the family-style restaurant, which had a buffet every morning and evening, including a toddler buffet with food that kids typically enjoy placed at a low level table so they can help themselves. Very thoughtful of the hotel. Overall the food is very good, bordering on excellent, although strangely I wouldn't call it memorable. Certainly you won't need to go anywhere off the resort to eat, unless you just want to save on the high prices. 4 out of 5.

Overall score: 21 out of 25. Strong recommendation of this resort for families with kids. You'll get an opportunity to relax and do things indoors and outdoors. We will be back some time soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello from all of us at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines. We are so grateful that you posted your feedback for other travelers to consider. Your thoughtful and comprehensive rating for our resort is equally valuable for us. We take our guest feedback very seriously and appreciate your thorough explanation of your sentiments. It is such a delight to know that you were pleased overall and that you plan to return. Thank you for your candor on our activities process. We will share your thoughts with our activities team for thoughtful consideration moving forward and hope that you will be pleased with the progress upon your return. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent a wonderful 3 days at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort last week and just loved it. We went with our son and daughter-in-law and 8 year old granddaughter. The place was crowded with lots of families but was absolutely spotless. Everything was maintained properly - everything worked. We had two adjoining rooms with a connecting door -- which was ideal.

There were tons of activities for our granddaughter. The star of the resort is the water park. There is a large heated outdoor children's pool with lots of floats, games including volleyball and basketball. More than enough for everyone on this crowded spring break week. There is also a floating "river" and slide and a children's hot-tub. There is a separate pool and hot-tub for adults.

There is a climbing wall and zip line that my granddaughter loved. The resort is located adjacent to a national park and there were walks and trails available. One of the days the weather was rainy and they had lots of indoor activities so that kids had plenty to do.

There is tennis, golf, and horseback riding as well. There are childrens and teen/adult movies in the evening. There is also a spa. There are bikes available to rent.

The place is incredibly kid friendly. They had all sorts of things for kids such as a pony to "paint", and longhorns to get photos on.

My granddaughter has Celiac disease and is highly allergic to glutens. The restaurant staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The chef came out and assured us that there were safe gluten free options and would personally make sure they were ok. They even had gluten free pancakes for breakfast! They also had wonderful buffets for breakfast and dinner.

The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The place is very large - has nearly 500 rooms and is spread out so there was a hike to get to anything. We went to watch my granddaughter play tennis and as we entered the driveway we saw a cart and asked if someone could drive us. They said they would call for a driver. We decided to walk (it really wasn't that far). We got about half way there when the cart came to pick us up and take us the rest of the way. Very thoughtful on the part of the staff.

The place is not inexpensive but I felt we got more than our money's worth and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk a lot try to get a room closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbl399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your thoughtful review. We are so delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay - from the room accommodations, to our shining star - the Crooked River Water Park, to the hiking trails and activities offered. We are especially proud that our gluten-free offerings, restaurant staff and chef made you feel well-cared for and safe in light of your granddaughter's special dietary needs. This is wonderful to know. We will share your words with our entire team so they may know that you were pleased with your stay. We hope you'll make plans to return for another getaway. It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a great time with our three kids (12, 10, 7) at the resort last weekend. Overall, our stay was really great and relaxing. The service was fantastic, employees seem happy and were helpful and friendly. The restaurants are great, though a little pricey. We opted to dine out the last night we were there, just to give our wallet a bit of a break. After the first day, we ate breakfast at the ice cream shop/deli to save money, too. The buffets are always kind of wasted on our kids. The KIDS' buffet at the Firewheel Cafe was a big hit for dinner, though. The food was delicious, though, I enjoyed the natural, healthy tendency of the menu.
As far as activities go, we were really pleased with the free activities (s'mores, bike rental, tennis, the hawk show, crafts), but the "excursion" activities left a little to be desired. We did the rock climbing/zip line, horseback ride and archery. We felt like the resort offered the least amount of experience available to make it worth paying for, but not nearly enough of an experience to justify the cost. For example, for $65 per person, the kids ended up shooting a total of 10 arrows at the archery class. They were not beginners, but had to go through the process of being instructed as though they were. This wasn't a big deal, but the fact that they only shot 2 arrows per round and only had 5 rounds meant that they spent a lot of the hour waiting for others (beginners) to shoot. About a $25 experience, yet we paid $65. The horseback ride was similar. It was just a trail ride near the golf course, and didn't really fulfill my daughter's expectation. If we go again, which we WOULD, we would just opt for the free activities rather than paying for extra experiences. We loved the bikes and tennis!
The spa was lovely. If you book an appointment, do it at the time you book your room, as they get full quickly. Also, take advantage of the adult pool and hot tub, which is available to you the entire day of your appointment. I wish I had understood that when I arrived! I missed out and didn't leave time for relaxation after my spa service.
I would not recommend this resort for a couples' getaway. Way too many kids around, general noise and crowds, at least at Spring Break. Families, for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello and many thanks for sharing your thoughts with other TripAdvisors. We are honored and delighted your family chose to stay at our resort for your spring break getaway. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the activities and amenities offered - and that you appreciated the healthy choices available on many of our menus. Thank you for your candid feedback regarding the cost of the food in the outlets, as well as your kiddos' thoughts on the kids breakfast buffet. We will take your words to our food and beverage division and use this as an opportunity to evaluate and learn. We also appreciate your straightforward observations regarding archery and trail riding. We will certainly share that with the team and consider options for more experienced archers / trail riders. Thank you again for staying with us - we sincerely hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay here during a business trip in Austin. I needed a place where I could get away from the city. I could not have found a better retreat. You know this place has to be special when you see miniature donkeys and Texas Longhorn on the property! The service was impeccable. The decor was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable! There were a lot of children around, but it was all happy noises. I always walk around every property that I'm at, and I was in constant awe of the natural beauty of this hotel. This is now the gold standard for me.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank aishamichelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello to you! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our resort! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your time here and that you were pleased with the bed, natural setting, friendly mascots, decor and service while you were here. We'll share your review with the team - and on behalf of us all - I'd like to invite you to return for another Lost Pines escape soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great property - lots of outdoor gathering areas and fire pits, great scenery, even a few longhorn cattle. Inside, the hotel has kind of a lodge feel but a fair amount of decor from Austin's music background. It was a very cool place. However, I didn't think the food was very good (restaurant or catered meals) and it was a very long way from downtown Austin. If you're looking for something of a rustic getaway from the city, this is a great place. If you want to experience Austin, I recommend picking something a little closer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are so happy that you stayed with us, and are glad that you enjoyed the scenery and details - right down to our longhorn mascots! Thank you for your candor in describing your thoughts relating to the food you experienced and the distance to neighboring Austin. Indeed, our close but not-too-close proximity to the city is what our guests share that makes us a great secluded getaway. We apologize if the haul to our capital city caused and inconvenience to you and your traveling companions. We would love to welcome you back for another stay with a more leisurely and relaxing travel goal in mind. It would be our pleasure to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights here over the weekend during a business trip and found the whole experience pretty good although I didn't realise that it was spring break so there were lots and lots and lots of children around! Nothing they can do about that though. Staff all excellent and friendly (Jennie especially so).

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RufusStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Greetings! We are thrilled that your business travels led you down the long and winding road to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines. Thank you so much for staying with us! Indeed - you stayed with us during a bustling time for the resort and the Austin area - both SXSW and Spring Break occurred over your stay. We apologize that your time with us may have been heavy on the energetic side - but would like to welcome you back for another stay over a more leisurely-paced time (like April, May before Memorial day or late August - October). It would be an absolute delight to welcome you back and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Creek
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
372 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
278 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd, Cedar Creek, TX 78612-4136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing