We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently stayed at Lost Pines and loved it. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about it.

Rooms are great and the staff was friendly and knowledgable. Wife enjoyed the spa services and felt so pampered!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake2dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, and are so happy to know that you felt relaxed and pampered. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    451
    167
    54
    36
See reviews for
769
299
35
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely, low-key yet upscale resort that is easy to reach from Austin or San Antonio. The grounds are sprawling, yet still easy to walk around (even for my husband, who has difficulty walking any distance).
We upgraded to a junior suite, so had a separate bedroom and living room, on a corner of a building facing the Colorado River. Very peaceful and serene.
The only negative is that the fine dining restaurant was closed during our stay (I assume because of low hotel occupancy), but the other on-site options were fine.
While you could play golf, swim (the weather was too cold for this), ride horses, etc., we just relaxed. One day we drove around the area to Bastrop, and enjoyed the wildflowers.
I also had a great massage at the spa, one of the best I've had. Expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: When you book online, they offer a stand-by suite upgrade. Because our rate was very low (mid-week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the resort's setting, activities and amenities while with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your jr. suite and that your treatment at Spa Django surpassed your expectations. We are appreciative that you shared your disappointment with Stories being closed while you were with us. We will pass that along to our management team for review. Thank you again for your kind comments, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed in this resort a number of times and it is our favorite weekend getaway. The hotel and its grounds are sprawling with all kinds of activities for children and adults. Horseback riding, miniature petting zoo, lazy river pool, hiking - it has it all. The spa is the best place in the entire resort, although now they charge a nominal fee. Be sure to get a room on the lowest floor in order to take advantage of the cool(er) summer nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at Hyatt Lost Pines, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so honored to be your preferred getaway destination. It is great to know that you enjoy the many activities and amenities that we offer - especially the relaxation provided by Spa Django. A copy of your review will be shared with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Lost Pines on April 9th through 11th 2013 and had a very relaxed stay. The hotel is about thirty minutes east of Austin in an area that they call Bastrop. The resort has a look akin to a huge ranch which is a great idea since you are in Texas and everything is "bigger in Texas" as they say.
One of the most notable things on our stay was dining in the Stories dining lounge. The menu was unique and the food was incredible. I would highly recommend this place to even the most experienced gourmet as everything from the appetizers to the entree was a taste delight. A top notch selection of wines were available as well to compliment any dish that you would choose.
Right from the opening of the menu to the desert we were so glad that we had the opportunity to dine at Stories.
Tip of the Stetson to the management and staff, and especially to the young man who prepared our meal, at Stories and the Hyatt lost Pines Resort. Our stay was a truly remarkable experience and if we ever have the good fortune to be in the Austin area again we will surely visit again.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms don't have balconies so if you want one stay on the first through third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, and are so grateful for the kind words you had to share. The team at Stories will be flattered to read your kind words regarding the cuisine, wine selection at service. We will be certain to pass along your kind words - and Stetson-clad nod - to the team. Thank you again for staying at Hyatt Lost Pines, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights the weekend after easter. It didnt feel too busy but certainly was not empty. We didnt arrive until after 6pm Friday and went out to Bastrop for a late dinner celebration that night and had to go in to Austin for an errand the next morning. So not a whole lot of time to hang out at the hotel. Best asset of this hotel would have to be the helpful and friendly staff. Check in was quick, and our stuff was brought up quickly by a nice gentleman who showed us room amenities and got us ice. Our room was nice spacious and clean with balcony. Also liked the extra counter and mirror across from the bathroom as it allows you to continue getting dressed even if the bathroom is occupied. Bed was comfortable. The in-room wifi was free for the duration of our stay. Our room was near the main lobby so location is very convenient. The room rate is high and so is the breakfast price. Saturday afternoon after our errand and lunch in Austin, we returned and did get to hike the trails and ride the bike. Plus enjoyed the cool breeze on our balcony. Its nice that there is an in-room fridge to keep our drnks cold. Our teens and friends had their own rooms next door to ours and did their own thing, allowing us parents to enjoy quiet relaxing time alone. Our teens used the pool and the bike we think. They also did the 6pm sunset float and said it wasnt worth the $50 per person. This was difficult to set up in the first place because we called in march hoping to ensure that we could get spots for the 6 teens. But we were told to call back the week before as they were too busy to be taking reservations for April ....really now, are we getting this fir free or what !!! Everyone loved the firepit and the smores; the weather was perfect for it. Overall a nice stay. We agree with another reviewer that said the exterior of the hotel reminds them of a large apartment complex and might we add, from the 80s. It certainly isnt an architectural beauty, but the main lobby and our room were nicely designed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you chose to stay at Hyatt Lost Pines, and that you and your teens enjoyed some relaxation as well as the activities and amenities. We deeply apologize for the response your received when attempting to make rafting arrangements with our activities department. That service is not our standard, and we will be certain to take this opportunity to review our policies and procedures with the team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations and relaxing on the balcony of your room. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another stay, and we hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent Easter weekend here, taking advantage of their club amenities and playing a round of golf - more on that in an additional review of the course...

Our room was pretty nice, but would have liked to be in one with a covered porch for sitting out and enjoying the park in the evenings or daytime reading a book - just too hot if the sun is out in one without cover like what we had - maybe good if you are a sunbather though...

Lots of people brought their dogs which was kind of cool. Most seemed well behaved, sometimes more so than some of the kids running wild! I get pretty ticked when people don't watch their kids... It was a holiday and there were lots of activities, so lots of families - which seemed good for them... If I had kids of that age, I would think that the kids would have a great time.

The Easter Brunch was not as I expected - but it was okay - a bit pricey, however - most of the food was pretty good - we did enjoy the seafood. As for most of the restaurants the food was just so-so - and the wines were not top shelf, but top shelf prices were charged... Ok, so it is a resort... Captive audience!

The place seemed well run - the staff in the Monarch room (club) were super duper. As long as we avoided the times when the club was overrun with kids, it was a good value. Personally, I think it is pretty obnoxious to bring your four kids and yourselves and pay the same price as two adults for access to the club. It just does not seem like a fair deal...

I may be sounding crabby, but we had a good time, really. We might return sometime not on a holiday to see if the relaxation factor could be notched up for us... It is a beautiful setting.

The place is spread out, so, if you are a walker, you'll like it! Lots of trail access for running and hiking around the hills... Gorgeous oaks and mesquite - and very "Hill Country Texas".

Room Tip: Ask for your choice of a covered or non-covered porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank West_Tx_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We are so appreciative of your candid comments regarding the monarch room and food and beverage offerings. We will share your thoughts with the team and use this as an opportunity to evaluate and improve our processes. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us over Easter, and would be so grateful to welcome you again for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here the week before Easter (so after spring break and before the holiday weekend). Unfortunately the weather was really cool and cloudy at the end, so we couldn't really enjoy the pool/lazy river much. We went in at the end of our stay but it was cold! Of course, we had it to ourselves, so it was a trade off.

We've stayed at a few Hyatt resorts and all have the pluses and minuses. For us, the biggest plus was the staff. Everyone was really helpful and nice and made us feel right at home. The star of the week was Lloyd Holliday - the omelet guru in the restaurant. Besides making a great omelet, he is a great conversationalist and entertaining in his own right. Definitely made breakfast worthwhile!

We were not as impressed with our horseback ride - we only did the short ride due to one member of our party being a little uneasy around horses, but the views of the golf course were a little overwhelming, as was the long, legalese lecture that made me think that there was a lawsuit not so long ago. The guide was fine, the horses nice, but we'd take the stables at the Tamiya Hyatt in New Mexico any day. Just saying.

The restaurants were all good, liked the food, the buffets had great choices, but be prepared for some steep prices. Really steep. Maybe everything really is bigger in Texas, including the check! But, again, the food was good. Anyway, Austin is only a 30 minute car ride away and we ate most of our post-breakfast meals there.

One last nitpick - we like to ride bikes to relax, but the only place to ride here is along the sidewalks...not too far and pretty dull. We gave up on the bikes on day one.

So, for relaxation with great staff...it hit the mark for us. It was close enough to Austin that we could visit the restaurants we wanted to eat at (Franklin BBQ, anyone?), see the sights and the people, and not be too far away from a nice room and great hosts. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hounddog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, PR/Marketing at Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are so delighted that you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed your time here - and in nearby Austin - overall. Thank you for your candid comments regarding your horseback riding experience. We will pass along your sentiments, and your entire review - to our team for review. We will be certain to let Lloyd know how much you enjoyed visiting with him. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hyatt Lost Pines, and hope to have the opportunity to do so soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Creek
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#9 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#44 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granduca Austin
#1 of 197 in Austin
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
The Driskill
#22 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa
Address: 575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd, Cedar Creek, TX 78612-4136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cedar Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedar Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 492 room resort located 17 miles from Austin offers chapionship golf, exquisite dining, outdoor adventure activities and full spa service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Lost Pines Resort
Lost Pines Bastrop
Hyatt Cedar Creek
Lost Pines Resort Bastrop Texas
Lost Pines Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing