We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend in the Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Cat Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
“A Weekend in the Country”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Blisswood Bed and Breakfast at Lehmann Legacy Ranch is like a box of chocolates with a variety of original country homes for rent each furnished accordingy to its time period and located on the relaxing Lehmann Legacy Ranch. My wife and I have spent weekends at The Log Cabin and The Texas Farmhouse, both located next to the barn and horses for horseback riding, and at The Lehmann House. Each stay has been its own experience. We had friends join us for our stay at The Texas Farmhouse and The Lehmann House and they also enjoyed Blisswood very much and subsequently stayed at The Writer's Cabin on two different weekends. Its hard to believe that a little gem like this is just an hour away from Houston. The oak trees are spectacular. There are also chickens, peacocks, emus, buffalo and cows. The ranch is also ideally located for small drives to Blisswood's surrounding country towns. Dinner at Carol's Restaurant, named after Blisswood's Owner, Carol Davis, is also a delight.

Room Tip: If you want the maximum country experience, stay at The Log Cabin next to the barn and wake up to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for taking time to post a review and glad you keep coming back for more of BlissWood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    51
    6
    11
    13
See reviews for
77
191
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I recently (mid-November) stayed at Blisswood with 4 of my friends. We stayed at the Gates House and it was a perfect size for all of us. What impressed me the most was the fact that Skeeter met us at an easily identifiable part of the property & escorted us to our house since it was dark and would've been hard to find. The fact that it is so out-of-the-way was a selling point for all of us. We're teachers and needed a relaxing getaway where we could unplug and unwind and this was exactly what we needed. 2 of my friends enjoyed riding horses and we all enjoyed walking around the various parts of the ranch and getting up close with nature and all of the animals (exotic and domestic) the ranch had to offer.

If you're looking to be in the center of things with 'concierge-level' attention and service, then this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a relaxing return to a simpler way of life, then this is the best place I can recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for taking time to post this review. I appreciate that everybody is busy and it takes effort to find the time to do this. I'm happy that you were able to relax and unplug here at BlissWood. Hope to see you all coming back together in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed at the Oasis at Blisswood during a weekend in October with 4 of my best friends and co-workers. We wanted someplace isolated where we could truly unplug, relax, and enjoy some peace and quiet with each other. The Oasis fit the bill perfectly! We stayed at the Gate's House, which was the perfect amount of space for the 5 of us. We each loved the soft sheets on the beds. The kitchen was where we spent most of our time together. We sat around the round table in the kitchen eating, drinking, talking, and listening to music every afternoon and evening of our stay. It was so nice to spend that time together with no distractions. Outside the cabin, I got to go on a trail ride with one of my companions. I would say it's the best way to really see the ranch. Our guide was courteous and knowledgeable about Blisswood. Skeeter and Carol were both friendly and helpful, going out of their ways to make sure we made it safely to our destination and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Unplugging is what BlissWood is all about and glad you got to enjoy that with friends and co-workers. I know it takes time for guests to post reviews, and it is very much appreciated. Hope you can make this your getaway with your friends often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights in the Lehmann house with our two dogs. The fact that BlissWood is dog-friendly is a huge bonus for us, because we always travel with our dogs and if there is somewhere we want to go where they can’t go, we often don’t go at all or don’t stay as long.

This trip came after my wife’s stay last month with several of her friends in a different house at BlissWood. She talked it up so much that I wanted to go too, and we had a great time! The house was very unique. With all of the antiques and heritage pieces, it definitely gave a somewhat old and rustic feel, while still having all the comforts of home! The washer and dryer were nice amenities to have, especially when travelling with dogs! We always bring several old “dog towels” to dry them off and clean their feet before they come inside if it has been wet or muddy, so it was nice to be able to do one load of laundry. I was told by the owner that the long wooden dining table was made by her grandfather and that lots of other pieces in the Lehman house were special family items, which I thought, was neat.

We brought food to cook two breakfasts, two lunches, and one dinner and the house had a neat old stove, a nice cold fridge, and all of the pots, pans, knives, and other items we needed to prepare our meals. We were surprised to find a chest of games in the dining room and enjoyed Battleship, and taught ourselves how to play Sequence! We enjoyed long walks with our dogs around the property, and also went horseback riding which was something I had not done in years! It was a lot of fun.

While it was cold this past weekend, we were dressed appropriately and the weather didn’t affect our plans really at all. The staff at BlissWood was very willing to change the scheduled date/time of our horseback ride due to rain, and we ended up having a beautiful Sunday morning ride throughout the acreage among the cows and other wildlife. One of the ranch dogs followed us along the entire trail ride! The bison were magnificent. The owner and staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Saturday night we ate at Carol’s restaurant which was amazing too. I’m glad my wife encouraged us go stay at BlissWood together. We both look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: This trip has been my only experience staying at BlissWood overnight. I have to say the Lehmann hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
So glad you were able to come with your wife and dogs and experience BlissWood, and thank you for your time in posting the review about your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Log Cabin. It was very cozy. The weekend was a bit rainy but we didn't care because the cabin was so warm and homey. They decorated it for Christmas which made it extra special. Skeeter was helpful and very flexible which was necessary since the weather was being finicky. My favorite part was the animals. We were glad our dog could come with us. He really loved playing with Cookie and BeBe. We hope to go back, maybe in the summer months and try a different cabin. It is a great little getaway without being far from home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks for choosing BlissWood to celebrate your anniversary with hubby and your furry friend. It's nice that he had playmates here, too! Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My fiance and I spent Thanksgiving at Blisswood. We stayed in the Lanai House and it was perfect. We enjoyed the quiet retreat and the waterfall/pond. We had a terrific time trap shooting, exploring the property and surrounding areas. We also ate at Carol's and had some of the best steaks we have ever eaten. We loved Skeeter and enjoyed visiting with him and also found Carol and the rest of the staff very hospitable. We plan to return with friends soon. It was so nice to rest, relax, disconnect from our busy lives and just enjoy each other's company. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Look at the features of all the houses. All are unique. The Lanai house had a nice little kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for the review and glad that you got to rest and relax and that you enjoyed staying at the Oasis. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a great time. We went horseback riding, skeet shooting and fishing. It was great to relax in such a beautiful area. We will be back again, next time hoping to bring our other daughter and son in law.
We also ate at Carols restaurant and the food was amazing.

Room Tip: Everything we needed was provided for in the house. The beds were comfortable. The house was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, Owner at BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Wonderful that you and your family enjoyed yourselves here and found everything comfortable and enjoyed the food at Carol's. Thanks for taking your time on a Sunday to post the review. Looking forward to your return trip with more of your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Spring
20.8 mi away
Coach Light Inn Brenham
Coach Light Inn Brenham
#3 of 11 in Brenham
211 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brenham
15.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Best Western Inn of Brenham
14.1 mi away
Super 8 Sealy
Super 8 Sealy
#1 of 4 in Sealy
209 reviews
21.1 mi away
Far View - A Bed and Breakfast Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch

Property: BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch
Address: 13205 Frantz Road, Cat Spring, TX 78933-5113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Cat Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch is an authentic Texas experience like no other. Unwind in the peaceful country setting amidst majestic live oaks, open ranch land, and our fully stocked fishing pond. Choose from 18 unique Texas Hill Country lodging options including turn-of-the-century Texas Homes, a Hawaiian themed Oasis, The Enchanted Cabin by the Lake or a contemporary Texas ranch house. Enjoy simple life in the calming surroundings of our working Texas Hill Country guest ranch, where animals abound including horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pot bellied pigs, deer, peacocks, and even American Bison. Enjoy numerous ranch activities including horseback riding, archery, animal feeding tours, fishing and more! Our breathtaking 650 acre Texas guest ranch is ideally located only an hour west of Houston, and 2 hours to San Antonio and Austin. Come experience a laid back and authentic Texas experience, perfect for romantic getaways and family vacations alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BlissWood Bed and Breakfast Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blisswood b&b At Lehmann Legacy Ranch Hotel Cat Spring
Blisswood Bed And Breakfast At Lehmann Legacy Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing