We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time country cooking”
Review of Sammy's Restaurant

Sammy's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Castroville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Rosanky, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old time country cooking”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Good country cooking. Had Chicken Fried Steak – light breading, very tender. Would have liked to see a more substantial piece of meat, seemed to be too tenderized, if there is such a thing. The salad bar was adequate – used Ice Berg lettuce more than I cared for. The Key Lime Pie was without equal!! Crust was a bit too thick, but FLAVOR was unsurpassed!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Read great things about this restaurant, so was disappointed when we stopped in for a late lunch. Maybe it was what we ordered. Or maybe it was the fact that they had a big political gathering going on in the back room. But whatever the case, the taco salad my wife and I ordered was awful. This so called salad had very little lettuce and a lot of what looked like a bean paste. Turned out to be overly cooked refried beans. They did load on the ground meat, but by the time we tried to pick through this we had decided we weren't that hungry.
My guess is that this is a great place for breakfast. And it might be good for lunch-just don't go if they are hosting a large gathering in the back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoCents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This is your old school family diner. Great choice for home cooking...fried chicken, steaks, chicken, fried steak, home-style vegetables. You'll enjoy it if you are looking for old school food at good prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can accommodate large Family's”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great breakfast/brunch with the entire family at Sammy's Restaurant all sixteen sat together as the staff placed tables together in the side room to accommodate us. Sammy's has good Texas food, the selection is wide and the food came out hot and tasty even with the large group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with good food.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Had their burgers and they were good and the big burger was worth eating again. I will stop in there the next time I am pasting thru.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing