We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere, great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Alsatian Steakhouse and Ristorante - CLOSED

The Old Alsatian Steakhouse and Ristorante
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were told this was a good place to eat and it certainly was! My friend had the surf and turf. The steak was delicious and the fried shrimp were big and the batter was outstanding. He also had a twice baked potato. There was a ton of food.

I had the manicotti and there was so much I couldn't finish it. The pasta was a tad bit chewy, but overall it was very tasty. I also had a cup of the onion soup which was outstanding. I had wished there was more. It had a great flavor...some of the best I've ever had.

Dining outside was a perfect choice, as the weather was good and we weren't placed super close to anyone else. It felt a little claustrophobic inside by the section that looked out to the patio. It was in an old house, so the ceilings were lower in that area.

I would recommend it for anyone in the area. The service was fantastic!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotrodgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent last weekend in Castroville. We ate at the Alsatian twice. The first night we ate off of the Mother's Day menu. Two of us had pork tenderloin with fig sauce and two had beef tenderloin. Both were prepared wonderfully--tender and nit over cooked. The strawberries were tasty and colorful. The next night we wanted pizza but they were only serving off the MD menu. But Tito, the manager, was very accommodating and offered to prepare a pizza. The pizza had a crispy crust and fresh ingredients. The wine and beer lists will please everyone. The prices are reasonable I highly recommend the Alsatian for a unique experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carjac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've been here on several occasions, and have yet to be disappointed. The place is historically rustic, and thus not modern and pristine, but I've never suspected anything unsanitary. Service is quick, and prices are VERY reasonable, given similar restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gideon_Krasmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great historic place with really good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I went for lunch. The service was great. I had the pasta with chicken in a mushroom wine sauce and it was delicious. My husband had the schnitzel with red cabbage and loved it. Both dishes were lunch specials, so the price was reasonable. The bread they served was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

The restaurant itself is in a historic alsatian house. It's really a nice romantic place.

PS. If you like homemade pizza, definitely order one from here. We took one home on another occasion. And needless to say, it beats anything you can buy from one of those chain places.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth the Trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

A step back in time. Congeneal staff, excellent food and wine. Open weekends. Just a short drive from San Antonio.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnieHammerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Alsatian Steakhouse and Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing