We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Groupon package gave a great value for two nights just west of San Antonio. View from balcony was very nice, check in by Ambrose as friendly as we have ever experienced. Also found everyone we spoke with to be very friendly. Breakfast in the dinning room was another bonus surprise. Would not hesitate to return when in the area again. The room was very clean and spacious.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We like Castroville so decided to buy a Groupon for two nights at this hotel. It is a short drive for us as we live in San Antonio. Our first day was pleasantly warm so we were able to take advantage of the balcony in the evening. The room was very comfortable and well maintained. Liked the tile floors. As this was just a short getaway for some R & R, we were content to drive around town and browse in local antique and co-op shops. Breakfast is very basic even though there is a restaurant on site. We did have a voucher for a lunch. I chose the buffet and my husband had a sandwich ( a choice I wish I had made). Didn't try to take advantage of the spa.
Would return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Totally recommend this hotel. I've stayed here 3 times and each time I wish I could stay longer as it is so peaceful and recharging. Many of the rooms look down into the Medina Valley off from the balcony...........very pleasant to sit there and watch the sun rise or set and see all the twinkling lights in the valley.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byronmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights during Spring Break in Room 214 for mine and husband's 28th year anniversary. The rooms were spacious and very quiet. Beautiful design of the rooms. The balcony was a beautiful place to behold a morning sunrise. Music was playing softly around the clock and it could be heard from the balcony even late at night. Very relaxing atmosphere. This hotel was above & beyond what we were expecting. We never used the spa but didn't feel it was needed because the atmosphere in itself was so wonderful. I would love to go back to Castroville and stay once again at Alsace Hotel.

Room Tip: Never heard any noise from our room as far as traffic. This room was the perfect spot for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We found this "quaint hill country escape" with hiking trails and a spa retreat on groupon. Usually we have great luck with groupon finds. Not so much this time around... The hotel had obviously been recently renovated and the rooms were nice and clean and the staff was friendly. However, I would not recommend this hotel for a getaway. There is NOTHING to do in Castroville, although Fernando's does have really good food (with Wheel of Fortune on TV). The spa supposedly exists, but by the time we checked in at 4pm on a Wednesday, they only had one massage appointment available 2 days later, an hour before check out. Nail salon and facials were completely booked through the weekend. It is a short 20min drive in to San Antonio, which is how we spent our days. Next time, we will probably stay in San Antonio, with a groupon on the river walk (like last time) for the same price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JWills30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Like others who have reviewed this small hotel, we went on a Groupon deal. We had a great experience. The hotel is on Hwy 90, and even though we could hear the traffic, it wasn't disturbing to us. The breakfast is Continental. You can make a homemade waffle. We thought the lunch buffet was very good quality. We had massages and pedicures and they were both great! The staff is friendly, the views are great and the little town of Castroville is steeped in Texas history with 1800's era preserved Alsatian style architecture on every corner. In our haste to pack up, I left my hanging bag with all my best clothing in the room. They mailed it to me the next day! I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a view of the valley behind. Some may be farther from Hwy 90. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Groupon special. Hotel is on hill with very nice overview. However not good for quiet retreat. Had upstairs room and very spacious. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. As noted in previous reviews breakfast buffet is quite frankly lame. Used groupon for lunch and was good but nothing great. Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Nice pool setting, and grounds well maintained. The noise from highway 90 is just too much so that overnight is difficult.

Room Tip: Tale castroville historic walk very relaxing and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefferson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Address: 1651 US Highway 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009-2601
Location: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort
Hotel Alsace Castroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing