We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel d'sappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel d'sappoint”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We found this "quaint hill country escape" with hiking trails and a spa retreat on groupon. Usually we have great luck with groupon finds. Not so much this time around... The hotel had obviously been recently renovated and the rooms were nice and clean and the staff was friendly. However, I would not recommend this hotel for a getaway. There is NOTHING to do in Castroville, although Fernando's does have really good food (with Wheel of Fortune on TV). The spa supposedly exists, but by the time we checked in at 4pm on a Wednesday, they only had one massage appointment available 2 days later, an hour before check out. Nail salon and facials were completely booked through the weekend. It is a short 20min drive in to San Antonio, which is how we spent our days. Next time, we will probably stay in San Antonio, with a groupon on the river walk (like last time) for the same price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JWills30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    68
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
72
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Like others who have reviewed this small hotel, we went on a Groupon deal. We had a great experience. The hotel is on Hwy 90, and even though we could hear the traffic, it wasn't disturbing to us. The breakfast is Continental. You can make a homemade waffle. We thought the lunch buffet was very good quality. We had massages and pedicures and they were both great! The staff is friendly, the views are great and the little town of Castroville is steeped in Texas history with 1800's era preserved Alsatian style architecture on every corner. In our haste to pack up, I left my hanging bag with all my best clothing in the room. They mailed it to me the next day! I would go back anytime.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a view of the valley behind. Some may be farther from Hwy 90. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Groupon special. Hotel is on hill with very nice overview. However not good for quiet retreat. Had upstairs room and very spacious. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. As noted in previous reviews breakfast buffet is quite frankly lame. Used groupon for lunch and was good but nothing great. Hotel staff friendly and efficient. Nice pool setting, and grounds well maintained. The noise from highway 90 is just too much so that overnight is difficult.

Room Tip: Tale castroville historic walk very relaxing and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights. Like some others, we found out about Hotel Alsace through Groupon. Because of the Groupon deal, I rated the stay higher. Had we paid full price, I would have rated it a little lower. The rooms are large with cobblestone type tile on the floor. One whole wall was composed of window panes with paned glass doors which opened to a nice balcony overlooking scenic hills. Included with the price were continental type breakfasts and one lunch for two in their pleasant restaurant. Also included was a $50 spa credit which my wife enjoyed very much. Although the rooms are nice and quiet, when sitting on the balcony, the traffic from I-90 was a little disturbing. The staff was professional yet friendly. We had a fun, relaxing time and would return again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room father from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a wonderful find....thank you for the Groupon, as I would haver never known about this wonderful little spa/hotel. Our spa treatments were so relaxing and the staff incredible! In fact, this is a very friendly place....from desk check-in to cleaning staff! I will definitely return for a weekend get away.

Room Tip: Close to highway, but we had a fan and did not hear any road noise and we were the second room in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJeanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

When I bought this Groupon I wasn't expecting much but they sure did surprise me. The rooms are big and very clean. The balcony is huge and has a great view. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet getaway. The staff was very friendly especially the man who checked us in named Ambrose. Again highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spectacular view of the Hill Country and a serenely beautiful place. We liked the spacious relaxing, uniquely featured room. Good base for tour of Hill Country. Would go again at a similar price. Price was right, but disappointed in the "breakfast" included. Skimpiest we ever partook of. The promo said lunch included. The staff this meant 1 lunch for 2 people. Some basics were neglected such as room service after the 1st night. We were told the room would be made up. It was not. Only 1 tiny bar of soap for 2 people, 2 nights. Had to use the pool towels after the regular supply was soiled. Coffee pot was faulty, but staff generous with coffee makings. A promotional notepad and pen would help the guest and the hotel. Would like to have a Gideon Bible in the room. Borrowed one from the office.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Regency Inn
#2 of 3 in Hondo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Address: 1651 US Highway 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009-2601
Location: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace Castroville
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing