We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We used a Groupon for a mid week getaway. It was Quiet, shady, clean ,a great view from our balcony a surprisingly good restaurant. We self toured 100 to 150 year old homes and businesses and a short trip up the river road. We did not try the spa. We were very pleased and well rested after our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    68
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
72
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice remodel. Clean and comfortable. My room had a balcony, fridge, coffee maker, separate vanity from the bathroom which makes getting ready so easy. Ate in the restaurant. Very good dinner. Held meeting in the ballroom. Not the best conference facilities. Staff was very responsive though to our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the valley for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After reading the other reviews we were not sure if our weekend would be an oops or a win. We were greeted by friendly staff and our reservations were in order. Our room was comfortable, clean with the necessary amenities such as hair dryer, coffee pot and even a small refrig. Each room had an individual balcony with chairs. The bed was comfy. Each unit had its on thermostat. Upon arrival the pool was being used by one couple and a small family. We enjoyed the pool the next morning for two hours with no one else present. There is a restroom and changing area at the pool. Check out staff were pleasant and gave us directions to the lake. Our pkg included a continental breakfast and a choice at lunch of either ordering from the menu or the buffet. Both meals are what we would have expected from this style eating. My guess is that had we of ordered entrees the food would have been a higher quality just based on the menu. We will have no problem referring others or visiting again for a quick weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for building three or four so that you look directly over the hill country rather than being clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Based on older reviews of this hotel, I'm guessing the hotel has been recently renovated. They were doing some construction while my friend and I stayed there in July, so I imagine they're trying to improve the hotel. I felt like the professional photos were realistic, based on my experience. That said, I wouldn't have chosen to stay here if it weren't for the Groupon. It was too expensive for what you got.

As others have said, this hotel has the feel of a highway motel. It's definitely not a "spa" feeling, but it was clean. I didn't have a problem with the cleanliness of the building/rooms, but the housekeeping staff was pretty weak. They pretty much moved our covers back into place and refolded two towels. The hotel rooms have nice hill country views, but the walls are paper thin. We were lucky to have stayed during a slow time, so it wasn't too noisy. The beds were a little on the hard side but OK, and the pillows were really thin.

The first room we were in had a toilet that wouldn't stop running, but the front desk was nice enough to put us in a different room. The second room had a back door that didn't close properly, so we had to pull on it really hard to close it. The TVs were modern flat-panels, just like in the photos.

The pool was a little dirty (leaves, construction dust, some bugs), but it was manageable. The grounds were pretty, but there's nothing to do except sit at/near the pool. The sitting area had cushions that were very dirty (construction dust?), but the wire tables/chairs were fine. There seemed to be a lot of wasps in the area, but they didn't bother us.

Castroville is a small town, and you have to understand that going in. If you're looking for "things to do" like you would find in San Antonio, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for a small town atmosphere, Castroville was friendly and quiet. Castroville has very limited restaurant choices - especially during the week. Unless you want fast food or chain restaurants, there are usually only 3 choices during Monday-Wednesday, and you'd better want to eat before 7 p.m.

The on-site restaurant was pretty bad. As part of the Groupon, we got a free lunch. Although it was extremely convenient, I wouldn't go back. The buffet served the exact same things both days we were there. The service was dismal. The cook was a jerk and yelled at his staff in front of customers. The food was ok at best.

The spa was nice and was the main reason we chose this hotel. We got two massages by two different therapists, and a facial. All three people were very friendly and did a good job. I also enjoyed being able to charge the services to my room, which meant I didn't have to carry my purse around.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, but double-check things before you unpack. Make sure your door opens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this particular hotel because of a Groupon discount they offered. We were looking for an inexpensive getaway in the Hill Country. The Groupon price was very affordable! We didn't have any idea what to expect so we were too disappointed, however, I do wonder why the hotel has the word "resort" in the name?? It is basically a motel with a restaurant, spa and swimming pool. The swimming pool was nice and clean and we enjoyed it in the afternoons. The Groupon included a $50 credit to the spa. I set my appointment about a week or so ahead of our trip and booked the appointment on-line. I arrived a few minutes before my appointment for the "relaxation package", which included a 30 minute relaxing massage followed by a 30 minute relaxing facial. I was greeted at the front door by the massage therapist. Both the massage therapist and the skin care professional were very kind and professional and good at their profession. It was a very relaxing environment and they made me feel like the most important client. I would definitely go back for the spa experience again. As far as the hotel, the rooms seemed clean and I don't have any complaints at all about them. Just not really a "resort" experience.....but not bad either.
I would not, however, recommend the hotel restaurant. It is called the Alsatian Restaurant. We tried it for dinner one night during our stay. The food was not terrible, but it wasn't that great either, and priced too high for what it is. The restaurant looks neat...has amazing potential, but the service was not what it should be for a place like that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

As already stated, the photos online are deceptive. This is not much more than a motel. There is a pool, which was nice, and a spa offering some services. And a restaurant.
Service at the front desk was friendly and good, but service in the restaurant was poor.
Try one of the restaurants downtown...... Dont waste your money on the "resort" restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this lovely hotel! We chose this location specifically because it was outside of San Antonio. The hotel itself was clean, well kept and very inviting. We spent both afternoons at the pool enjoying the beautiful hill country view-our 8 year old son LOVED it! We did not visit the onsite restaurant, as we drive into Castroville one evening and into San Antonio the next. It is a short enough drive into SA- only about 30 minutes or so to the Alamo, 15 minutes or so to Sea World. Loved Haby's Bakery, which is just down the hwy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatertot26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castroville
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Regency Inn
#2 of 3 in Hondo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort
Address: 1651 US Highway 90 W, Castroville, TX 78009-2601
Location: United States > Texas > Castroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring big city amenities in the country, Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort is located just minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our quiet boutique hotel offers breathtaking views overlooking the Medina River Valley & historic Castroville; our full service property includes 38 newly remodeled guest rooms, spa services including customized skin & body treatments, several meeting spaces and a restaurant featuring fine Alsatian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alsace & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alsace Castroville
Hotel Alsace And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing