We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully managed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Carthage TX
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carthage
Missouri City Tx
1 review
“wonderfully managed”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband stayed at this hotel for several weeks. The manager Dorothy Clemente made sure that his stay was very comfortable. Everything was neat and clean everyday. The staff were always helpful and very professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Its so very nice to have respectful and friendly personal to greet you and from check in to check out. A big thank you to Dorothy she makes the wheels turn in your favor at this hotel. We will see you again Thank you R. J.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy C, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage TX, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. My staff and I look forward to having you back.
Please call anytime you are in the area and we will have a room ready for you.

Thank you again.


Dorothy Clemente
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
33
10
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I work in the oil field and have basically lived out of hotels for the last 5 years all over Texas, Lousiana, Oklahoma and Kansas and never have I felt more at "Home away from home" as I have here at the Super 8 in Carthage, Texas. This hotel has always been good to me in years past but under this brand new management and staff, they have gone above and beyond the typical "service" I've become accustomed to from the average low budget hotel. I was first impressed by the negotiation of my nightly rate during my 2 weeks at a time stays. Then everytime I asked for anything, wether it be extra coffee packets, some milk or juice late at night and even opening up breakfast a little earlier so I can eat before I have to be at work in the morning, they have said yes and been enthusiastic about it. The housekeeper is the best I've experienced and she's grown accustomed to my requests and personal habits and makes sure im completely comfortable when I get back every evening. Overall I am most impressed with the general manager Dorothy. She understands that its rough on us guys who spend all this time away from home, and does everything she can to make me feel like Family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ_Hazelhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy C, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage TX, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. My staff and I try to make everyone's stay great. We know how hard it is for all the workers that are away from home. That is way we try so hard to make it easier for you.
We are happy to open up earlier for breakfast for you so you can have something to eat before you go to work. It had been a pleasure for all of us having you here.
Thank you so much and we look forward to having you come back every week.

Thank you
Dorothy Clemente
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am a business traveler and I stay in a motel/hotel 3 - 4 nights a week. This room and hotel was very clean. The staff were courteous. There is nothing negative to say about it! It was a Great Stay to say the least!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy C, Manager at Super 8 Carthage TX, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. My staff and I take pride in making sure your stay is great.
We here at Super 8 will like to have you come stay with us again, So anytime you are in town please feel free to give us a call and we will get you a room.

Thank you again.
Dorothy Clemente
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank Dorothy for making my stay at the Super 8,Carthage,TX as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We were there from Oct. 2013 thru Jan 2014, and was treated with nothing but respect and friendly personal. The rooms were very clean and the food was always warm in the morning and the area was very clean. Once again I would like to thank Dorothy for making sure that if we had any problems they were handled immediately. One of the things I would like to point out also is one of our workers became ill,being a dieabetic Dorothy went to make sure he was doing alright every 20 minutes, until we came in off the job, once again thank you Dorothy. I would highly recommend this motel to all my friends, and I hope that the supervisors realize what a faithful and good employee they have with Dorothy.

thank you
D Johnson

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy C, General Manager at Super 8 Carthage TX, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your company stay. I look forward to you staying with us again.
Thank you for all your kind words. All I try to do is be myself.
Hope you have a wonderful day.

Thank you so very much,
Dorothy Clemente
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carthage hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Carthage
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carthage
0.2 mi away
Inwood Suites Suites Carthage,Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Carthage
39 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carthage TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carthage TX

Property: Super 8 Carthage TX
Address: 2386 SE Loop, Carthage, TX 75633-3162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Carthage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carthage TX 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 of Carthage, Tx is a brand new hotel as of April 2012. We have a modern decor not found in many establishments that have you feeling that you're in your home away from home. We have a range of rooms, varying from a regular King single, up to a 2 King Suite that comes equipped with a full kitchen.Modern design meets affordability at our Super 8 Carthage, TX hotel, the friendliest spot on earth, according to the City of Carthage website. Built in 2012, our Texas hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access, full wheelchair accessibility and convenient business center. We’re located just off Route 59, in the quiet southern section of Carthage, within easy reach of downtown.Wake up and get where you need to be after a hearty free SuperStart breakfast. Copy service, Laundromat and free parking for vehicles of every size are available at our hotel in Carthage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSKnown as the Gas Capital of the United States, Carthage, Texas is also home to the Texas Country Music Hall of Fame, just five miles from our front door. During October each year, Carthage gears up for the East Texas Oil and Gas Blast, with live music, door prizes, car show and baking contest; while April sees the return of the Piney Woods Quilt Festival. Visiting a Pony or Filly? Panola College is within easy reach of our Carthage hotel. Check out a sports game or indulge your Western fantasy with Rodeo events on campus, just a few miles north of us.DINING OPTIONSNobody goes hungry in Texas, and Carthage is certainly no exception! Pop over to Denny’s for a quick bite nearby, or savor margaritas and salsa at Don Juan’s Mexican Restaurant downtown. Grab a slice at Milano’s Pizza or chow down on ribs at Daddy Sam’s BBQ and Catfish.BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIESFree high-speed Internet access and copy services are available onsite. Visit our front desk to find out more about how you can work on the go.Built in a quiet atmosphere, you'll be cozy and asleep in our brand new beds in no time. We'll be looking forward to hearing from you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Carthage TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing