We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to go”
Review of Misto Bistro - CLOSED

Misto Bistro
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rosemeade
Description: Misto Bistro features an eclectic menu for lunch and dinner. Wine, beer and cocktails are available, with happy hour specials Tuesday-Thursday nights. Join the VIP club for more information on Prix Fixe menu specials (Tuesday and Wednesday nights) and upcoming events.The menu includes a wide selection of seafood choices, prime rib, salads, daily soups, crepes, gourmet sandwiches, and everything is made to order. Menus are on the website. Outside patio dining is available when weather permits.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to go”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

One of only two restaurants in Carrollton with a chef. A non pretentious place to go that does not have the prices and crowd of Addison. We had a wonderful Valentines dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had Chef Parr's brisket, billed as melt in your mouth hickory-smoked brisket braised in pomegranate and tangerine reduction. However, my piece of meat was anything but tender. It was grisly and tough. It appeared to have just been prepared, and not slow-roasted over a period of time, as brisket needs to be. Will probably not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutluly the Best Restaurant in Carrollton”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This restaurant has it all. A wonderful menu, caring owners that try very hard to make the dining experience wonderful. A total scratch kitchen and it shows . Every dish that comes to your table is made with love. Don't miss out on this one of a kind upscale little jewel tucked away in Carrollton.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank analisasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood restaurant with more misses than hits”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My fiancé and I went for dinner recently. We heard very nice things about this restaurant and wanted to try it. The bottom line is that Misto is a nice place with mediocre food and subpar service.
The restaurant’s ambiance is nice with a very classy bar, wall decorations and high backed booths. The owners were friendly and keen to make us feel welcome and satisfied. Unfortunately, we were seated at a cloth-covered table that hadn’t been replaced from the previous diners.
The Misto red fish I ordered was bland, uninteresting, and overcooked. It tasted like a prepared frozen filet. The rice concoction that accompanied the fish was also flavorless. The sweet potato fries were lumpy and bland. The Shellfish crepes my fiancé ordered were smothered in some unrecognizable sauce and filled with bland crabmeat and overcooked shrimp.
The server was pleasant and friendly but seemed in a hurry to get us out, failed to clear off the table or refill our water glasses.
The wine list is filled with low priced wines. The ones we sampled were of very poor quality.
Misto’s problem is an overly ambitious menu offering a large number of dishes but fails to deliver satisfaction on any of them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrykaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious dining in a cafe' atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

A well-needed addition to Carrollton. Varied menu with several specials that are all winners! Full bar for that well deserved cocktail. Save room for the limoncello cake for dessert!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mapgirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misto Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing