We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a Huge Appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of J W''s Steakhouse

J W''s Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Carmine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bring a Huge Appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Portions are enormous! Service is super friendly. It's not "health" food, nor is it gourmet. But it IS yummy fried catfish, chicken fried steak, onion rings, that sort of thing. Prices are very fair, and overall this was a satisfying supper out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShoshR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton, Texas
1 review
“Ah-Mazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I eat here at LEAST once a week. Every night has a specific special and we enjoy all of them! My personal favorite is the CFS. My husband loves the chicken tender plate. Any time our friends or family come in from out of town, they request to eat here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent selection, particularly the coconut cream pie! Others in my party ordered the onion rings, steak, and a salad. None of us were unhappy with our orders!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank amach90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We eat here everytime we sell at Antique Week in Warrenton. The steaks are nice and thick and delicious. My Hubby had the baked catfish with mashed sweet potatoes and said it was very good. The wait staff is always pleasant. We highly recommend eating here. It costs us about $35 for the 2 of us. You can spend more or less depending on what you order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Part of the new Village Market / Valero Station.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stopped in at the Village Market on our way home from Lake Somerville today. It shares the building with the steak house. The people inside were awesome. I wanted to see if they had things that I needed for my next camping trip so that I would not have to pack it with me. They are very well stocked with can stuff, frozen stuff, and fresh stuff. The woman helping me even asked if there was anything they didnt have and that they would get it for me.They even have something I haven't seen in 40 years. They have TV bait shrimp ! That brings back memories of fishing with my Grandfather at his ranch. This is a brand new store. Its in a cool little antique shop road front community. It is just up the road from the lake on highway 290 in Carmine Texas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonestarbassclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J W''s Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to J W''s Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing