We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Get Away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Equinox Inn at Biscuit Hill
Ranked #1 of 6 Canyon Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this place while planning our last minute weekend getaway. It was a random choice off of bedandbreakfast.com, and I am extremely pleased with our choice! We love the hill country and Biscuit Hill perfectly displayed its beauty. When we arrived, we were greeted by Dean. He gave us a tour of the place, showed us the deer and the alpacas. He was very helpful and thorough with his explanations. He and his wife offered to help plan our stay if we needed any help which was very kind of them. We stayed in the Lone Star Mini Suite which offered a private deck and a private hot tub. Our deck overlooked the feeding area for the deer and it had a view of Canyon Lake in the near distance. We enjoyed watching the sun come up over the lake in the mornings. Our room also included a huge comfy bed, a big walk in shower and a cozy atmosphere. The breakfast was outstanding both mornings we were there. The first morning, Diane made southwest breakfast casserole, peach dumplings, fruit salad with honey yogurt topping and homemade chili and cheddar biscuits. I could have eaten 10 of the biscuits by themselves, they were to die for! Yum! The second day, Diane prepared a garden breakfast casserole, smoked sausage, fruit salad with honey yogurt topping, and homemade biscuits with an assortment of jellies. She also had Easter cupcakes for us to take on the road! The outside gardens at the B&B are very relaxing. They really make the place comfortable and inviting. The only "complaint" we had was the people above our room were very heavy walkers and they were up at least 3-4 times per night going to the bathroom. But other than that, no complaints! We truly enjoyed our stay and will be back! We also recommended this place to both of our families!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccac656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is a lovely B&B. The rooms are some of the nicest I've stayed in, very clean, accommodating to every need, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are pretty much perfect. This is really good food for people who appreciate good quality, and there is plenty on the buffet. Dean goes out of his way to show you around, introduce you to the alpacas, and encourage you to feed the deer. The property is nice with plenty of seating areas. We had a great time here, my only big complaint being that they don't clean the room. By that I mean that they don't make the bed, wipe down the bath, or replace the dirty glasses and coffee cups - no basic service at all. There is a sign on the door that says that cleaning service is an additional $20. I've never stayed anywhere - not even a Motel 6 - where they didn't at least make your bed and cart away your dirty glasses for the price of a stay. One other inconvenience is that the owners live off property - something I've experienced before and have no problem with - but be aware that they're not always around if you need something. Sure, you can bother them by making an emergency phone call, but who wants to do that just to find out if you can have a fire in the fire pit? After a long, hot day out, we wanted to come home to a cold drink, but the kitchen remains closed and there is no ice to be found on the premises. I would suggest a communal fridge or ice cube trays in the rooms for those of us who like ice in our water or cocktails. Most people don't want to bother the owners after they've retired for the day, so some of these things need to be available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biscuithill, Owner at Equinox Inn at Biscuit Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I am so glad that the traveler enjoyed most of what we had to offer. I am not sure where the sign on the door was about the $20 room turn. We offer a "room service card" on every room's bed tray where they can mark it for various services that they may want and turn it in. We do not charge for bed making, trash emptying, or fresh towels. What we charge for is a complete (everything in room) room change out. There is a $20 fee for this. Our Inn is in a very arid area of Texas, and we do try to conserve our water usage as much as we can without impacting a guests stay with us. All of our rooms have a mini fridge in them so guests can chill their beverages. We also provide an ice bucket of ice on arrival, that can be refilled upon request. Our ice maker is small so we do limit ice to 1 refill p/day per room. If we know what you want, we want to make sure you get it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this B&B in Jan. 2013...the property is absolutely darling inside and out. The breakfasts were standard, the room was beautiful, the view was typical Hill Country. If you have cedar allergies, be forewarned...if you need to request anything from the owners after 8:00 in the evening, don't even bother. When first shown to our room, we were told that if we needed anything when the owners were not on site to let them know. If you stay in a room on the second floor with a balcony, do not leave the door open...the family cat will visit you over and over again...when I phoned in the evening to ask if they could secure the cat so we could keep the door to the balcony open to enjoy the night air and the stars from our room, we were told that they wouldn't do anything about the cat...and that we shouldn't have had our door open anyway...something about racoons...we were never told this when we arrived...during the short call with the owners, Dean told us we could leave our windows open for night air, but there were no screens on either window. The morning after our call, we were roundly scolded by Diane for calling the evening before...so much for treating guests nicely! The best breakfast/interaction with anyone in charge was our final breakfast that was prepared and served by someone other than the owners. Also, unless requested, basic housekeeping is not done...some cleaning services have additional costs.

Room Tip: We are extremely accomodating travelers and have stayed in B&B's all over the country...for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snydergal75707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biscuithill, Owner at Equinox Inn at Biscuit Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

As a couple who operate their B&B mostly by ourselves. We do need our rest. We go to bed at 10 PM. We have helped guests who call us as late as midnight or later if the situation warrants. I do take Monday breakfasts off since I do it all the other mornings. We are in a country setting with many critters that roam at night even in the winter, but we only mention them to our warmer weather visitors since guests doors are usually closed to the weather during the winter. The call came in after we were asleep, so Dean was trying to get everything they were saying, but he was still groggy. He asked if they would just open their window instead. One window was 2 stories up and no animal could get in from there. I tried to explain the next morning about the wild animals, and Dean being groggy, but the guests were not receptive. We did lock the cat up for the remainder of their stay, but she has now figured out how to unlock the pet door. All room doors should be kept closed or you can wind up sharing your room with something you don’t want. We do charge for a complete room turn during your stay. Making your bed, emptying trash, changing our bath linins is all free. I am glad the guests did enjoy their space and our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just wanted to get away for the weekend and enjoy a little R&R and this was the perfect place to do it! Dean and Diane are such wonderful hosts and make you feel like family the second you walk through the door. The breakfasts are to die for...when we were there they included a delicious egg and sausage casserole, salsa, biscuits, at least 7 different kinds of jam, fruit salad, a few different kinds of juices, coffee. Its complete and so good! What a nice way to start the day. Dean and Diane will help you plan your day or you can adventure out on your own. There is lots to do nearby. We went to a winery for a wine tasting and also went on the adventure safari. We stayed in the Creekside Suite so the room itself offered lots to do. We had our own private hottub and outdoor shower. The deck was incredible...really big and had a porch swing which was really nice to just relax on and read a book. There is also a grill out there and a table and chairs. Such a nice place to grill some dinner and watch the sunset. There is also an observation deck on the 2nd floor which you can enjoy the sunset over the lake. Inside there is an electric fireplace which books on the mantle. We found a book of romantic poetry which we thought was a nice touch. I got my boyfriend to read me a few. There are wild deer that roam nearby which are nice to watch from the deck....all in all i don't think I could have asked for more from this weekend....thank you so much I definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Biscuit Hill. We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute of it. It was our first experience at a bed & breakfast and we are hooked. We have always enjoyed cruising but this may be our new thing. Dean and Diane were the most wonderful hosts and Diane can cook. We stayed in the Garden Room and loved having the private hot tub to use. Breakfast was promptly served at 9:30 each morning and was delicious. I loved the time that breakfast was served...it was just late enough that we could take our time getting up and ready each morning but early enough that we still had the day to do anything we wanted to do. Biscuit Hill is a great location to stay and have access to lots of fun places to go. Dean and Diane make you feel like family the moment you walk in. They always call you by name (which is amazing with the number of people I know they must meet). I was sad to say goodbye...well, it wasn't goodbye...it is a see you later as we will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelAgentAmy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Perfect place to relax and spend some time with someone you love.
The weather was raining and cold, but a perfect place to turn on the fireplace, and enjoy the hot tub and beautiful view. The breakfast was delicious! This was our first time to do a B & B and we will definitely do it again. A perfect place for couples and friends to reunite.
Thanks Diane and Dean..

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank janiclearlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Diane and Dean are always the perfect hosts! We stayed in creekside which was great!

Room Tip: For couples we love the captains room and creekside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvs2travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canyon Lake hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort
1 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Canyon Lake
32 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mystic Quarry
Mystic Quarry
#2 of 14 in Canyon Lake
39 reviews
3.9 mi away
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
#8 of 14 in Canyon Lake
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equinox Inn at Biscuit Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equinox Inn at Biscuit Hill

Address: 717 Colleen Dr, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-5202 (Formerly Biscuit Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon Lake
Price Range: $145 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 miles from Gruene and New Braunfels on a hillside above Canyon Lake. Three of our rooms offer a private hot tubs. All rooms have a comfortable king sized bed, private bathroom, electric fireplace and a balcony. Besides our complimentary full breakfasts, guest enjoy watching the wildlife and feeding our white tail deer. We are 1 hour from down town Austin, and 35 miles from the San Antonio air port. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Equinox Inn At Biscuit Hill Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing