We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Gem in the Rough”

Gennaro's Trattoria
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated, Gennaro's Trattoria serves authentic Italian cuisine, originating from Naples, Italy, made from fresh ingredients. Gennaro's Trattoria's motto is "che mangia bene, vive bene" or, "who eats well, lives well." We invite you to enjoy and enrich your life by dining with us.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Elegant Gem in the Rough”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Amazing atmosphere as well as scrumptious food. You can go in lake attire or dressed up. So gladwe looked up the ratings as we kept hearing about this Italian restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicolemom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    56
    20
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great italian food. Great service. The traditional lasagne was good along with the one with chicken, mushroom, broccoli. Really enjoyed the chocolate raspberry cheesecake! So creamy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasHappynHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice find in Canyon Lake”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were there for lunch on a weekday. Not expecting much from seeing the restaurants just down the hill, we were pleasantly surprised with a great view. The service was great. The kitchen was accommodating with my dairy sensitivity and modified the dish for me. I ordered a more expensive item on the menu, but they offer wide range of prices on the menu and the specials are great deals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnysWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tuscany in Texas Hill Country”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I read all the positive reviews. They were spot on. Real Italian food at reasonable prices. Portions were generous and enough to take home. Bread was excellent!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis10_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were a large group (17) during the July 4th holiday. Calling ahead for a reservation we were told that they could seat us but it would be 9:30pm. We accepted but we would have loved an earlier time. Within about 2 hours they called us back and we were given 7:30pm. We wanted to arrive early because my brother thought that we could sit on the patio and have drinks so off we went arriving about 45-60 min. early. The patio was booked with diners so we went lower and sat on a picnic table and the rocks. They don't normally serve drinks down there (we were suppose to get our drinks inside at the bar) but they were so sweat, the hostess came and took our drink orders and they served us. Wow! So busy but the service was great, and if you have been visiting the Hill Country for the last 20 years during holidays, you know that service is sometimes rare. Everyone enjoyed Everything! We liked the room with the windows overlooking the View. Yes, I would recommend. I am headed back in 2 weeks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing