We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were thrilled with the Chicken Fried Steak”
Review of Granny D's

Granny D's
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
760 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“We were thrilled with the Chicken Fried Steak”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Granny D's was our first restaurant stop while in the Texas Hill Country recently. This is an excellent, casual restaurant. We decided to try the Chicken Fried Steak since we have always liked this Texas dish. Granny D's did not disappoint. The steak was lightly breaded and the mashed potatoes and gravy were very good. The restaurant offers some incredible desserts which looked wonderful, but being conscious of our waistlines we didn't step off of the cliff. Service was excellent. The price was reasonable. The atmosphere is quite casual and seems to be popular with the locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    123
    34
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast, not Dinner”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Breakfast food is excellent, especially the pancakes & French toast.
Service was good.
Dinner - food was average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank macmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFLUGERVILLE
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Place and old fashion food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I got the hot roast beef sandwich and it was the size of the plate! We had 2 more sandwiches for supper. The Lemon pie was also very good. The place is small, so you may have to wait for a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like lots of butter, try this place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The breakfast is good. The cooking reminds me of Paula Deen and her love of butter. Plan on working out later if you are going to eat here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kitkat681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great home cook in' like Grandma & Grandpa use to make!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It is worth the wait as they make everything from scratch! Great breakfast! Huge pancakes! Chicken fried chicken & chicken fried steak are delicious! Everything I tried was absolutely wonderful! We will visit Granny D's every time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ammaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny D's also viewed

 

Been to Granny D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing