We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Granny D's is now Granny D-”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Granny D's

Granny D's
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Granny D's is now Granny D-”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had breakfast this morning at Granny D's. This was our second visit but it will also be our last. When that huge cup of steaming hot coffee was set in front of me I thought "This is gonna be good." Then after drinking about half of it and seeing the crusty ring of someone else's food lining the inside of the cup, I thought "Uh, maybe not." Our food orders arrived and mine was okay but how can anyone mess up eggs over easy? On the other hand, my wife's order for scrambled eggs and hashbrowns arrived as exactly that - one big glob of eggs, potatoes and cheese (who said anything about cheese?). Our friends ordered poached eggs. The menu said two eggs per order. The waitress delivered one plate with one egg on it and another plate with four eggs on that one. The pancake that accompanied each order was huge which is what we had come to expect. Unfortunately, the center of the thick pancake was under-cooked. All-in-all, the "D" in Granny D's now means "Disappointment."

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timdenchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    116
    34
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best. Pancakes. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great breakfast buffet for a reasonable price. Everyone is friendly and the atmosphere is very "down home".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDude07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dinner Plate Pancakes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Love having breakfast a Granny D's, their dinner plate size pancakes come in a wide variety of flavors. The carrot cake pancake, is just like having dessert! Don't miss the 1/2 lb hamburger, the sweet sour dough buns makes it wonderful. Staff is friendly, knows all the regulars by name. The building needs updated, don't let that change your mind or you will miss some very good food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON TEXAS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great home cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Never miss a pancake at this place! Just like granny made but Texas sized. You can't eat one pancake!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Huge Portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

You get what you pay for at this restaurant! Nothing special about the building and it's not on the river with outdoor seating but the food is excellent! As a matter of fact, while we were visiting, a water pipe broke inside the wall and water was going everywhere. The staff got busy relocating us and cleaning up the mess and the food coming out of the kitchen just kept rolling right along. We didn't try any of the desserts that they displayed in the refrigerated section, although they looked great. But,what we did order was really good. Burger, omelette, pancakes and a chicken fried steak sandwhich....all very tasty. The buns that the burger and chicken steak came with are excellent. This pace is what they advertise...great home cooking!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CubTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny D's also viewed

 

Been to Granny D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing