We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Sage Grille

Silver Sage Grille
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Silver Sage Grille gives you a comfortable dining experience, offering great service in a "casual-elegant" environment. Our menu is best described as American-Eclectic with Cajun and Texas inspired dishes. Fantastic Food. Great Service. Wonderful Ambience.
texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal on the lake”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We needed a place to entertain clients while they stayed at the lake. All seven at the restaurant enjoyed their meal. The only negative was that their a/c was not working well enough for the 100 degree heat. We will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenndTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    39
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our first visit exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I stopped in last night at about 9:00 PM and they welcomed us like old friends even though this was our first time there. My wife started with the dinner salad but I couldn't pass up the iceberg wedge and I was thrilled with the amount of blue cheese. For entrees we had the pecan encrusted chicken and the shrimp pasta. Both we excellent. And the house wines were good as well. We will certainly return to try the other entrees. This is one of the better restaurants in the Canyon Lake / Spring Branch area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We've eaten there about 5 times and love the food. It's a little more in line with prices in Gruene or New Braunfels dinner restaurants, but you get what you pay for! Menu is creative and very tasty. Staff is nice. They've done a good job with the decor and ambiance. I'd like a little better wine selection, but it's good. It is a little tough to find. If you are going North on 306, it's the strip center just past Italian Garden restaurant on the right. If you miss it, you'll miss a nice dinner experience!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Evenings are good.... think twice about "early bird" special”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Exceptional dining in the Canyon Lake, perhaps no direct competitor on the north side of the lake. While moderately expensive for the area, evening meals are well worth the trip. Pork Chops and artichoke appetizers were winners. Salads are decent and fresh. Service attentive and professional in the evening. Not so great at their reduced price "early bird" special hours, waiters acted like they would rather be elsewhere and had never tried the seafood taco (Shrimp Taco & Crawfish Bisque) so could not offer opinion. Perhaps he knew it was not great with a flimsy small tortilla and accompanying single crawfish soup. Second option tried was the "blackened" chicken breast sandwich, which was decent but flavorless. It was sharing the plate with some overcooked skinny french fries that McD would have tossed out. After the meal was cleared and dessert was declined, the two bored waiters amused themselves talking behind the bar forgetting the patrons completely.

Try the evening, forget the early bird.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthereoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't let the location discourage you”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We almost missed it driving down 306. Located at the end of a small strip mall, with admittedly poor signage, it was easy to be distracted by the large propane tanks in the parking lot. The Silver Sage Grille was recommended by the proprietor of the B & B where we stayed, and although the parking lot was practically empty (it was pretty early) and the location less than, shall we say, welcoming, we parked and entered. And boy, are we glad we did!

The SSG is a lovely little spot, beautifully decorated and welcoming to guests. Our waitress, Amanda, immediately greeted us with a smile. When I asked for suggestions before ordering, she displayed her knowledge of the menu -- preparation, ingredients -- and her advice was spot-on. Our meals were delicious and showed great thought and care in preparation. At one point, the owner Robin stopped by to chat for a few moments.

I know that people will be tempted to drive by because SSG doesn't have the curb appeal that patrons might look for, but once inside you'll discover the ambiance that's lacking outside. And if you're more interested in a great meal at a very reasonable price, then SSG will fulfill and likely exceed your expectations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Sage Grille also viewed

 

Been to Silver Sage Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing