We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AAA Lazy R & R Cove
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book By It's Cover”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was my first time going camping. I planned it as a surprise for my fiance who loves the outdoors. When we first pulled up I was a little taken back by the appearance - lots of RV's that looked like permanent dwellings, and the check in station was a stand with Christmas lights that said "register here". I was looking for a nice office. I expressed my reluctancy to my fiance, but was put to ease after a few hours in Cabin #12. Thecabin was clean, cold, and had a television, kichenette and microwave, I love the patio and we sat there in the evenings enjoying nature.and BBQ-ing. THe picture on the web was just as I expected. Because my fiance is an outdoors person he totally enjoyed it. Deers were all over the property. The water in the shower had good presure and was nice and hot. We brought our own cookware, but there were dishes, pots and cooking utensils available. The creeks were dried but there was water at the boat ramp. We went to Canyon Lake to fish and caught several fish that we enjoyed for dinner. We do plan on going back in the future.

Room Tip: Cabin #12 is built f cedar wood and provides more of a nature feel compare to some of the other ceme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    4
    2
    22
See reviews for
33
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaPlace, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

14 ppl, ages 5 to 56, using three cabins for a whole week that included two weekends, staff was very curtious and easily available.... loved feeding the deer and loved the quiet... spent the days in New Brunfels and San Antiono...we also enjoyed the river, we all wanted to stay another week but it was time to go back home to New Orleans... Hope to make it an annual trip

Room Tip: cabin 9 the best kitchen and view, loved the covered porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanel8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is the most secluded place around the lake or on the Guadalupe river. Too many deer & kids running around though this last time July 4th but at least they were having a ball too. Now they have peacocks & a paddle boat with the canoes. Our cabin had new furniture & will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepdiveBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The lodge was great. A very beautiful place with access to 2 creeks & a river, which contained plenty of water. Buy or bring deer feed to put out for them, as they will approach. Wifi, a/c, kitchen utensils, tv, cable, & plenty of chairs, couches, & beds.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJLTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a group of 8 people (4 couples) go last year. We stayed in Cabin #9. We loved it. There was plenty of room for all of us. We brought our own pots and pans, linens, and towels. Very reasonable in prices. Not a 5 star hotel but still nice. We are going back next week with 12 people and staying in the lodge. Will continue to go back every year that we can

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCarr4119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked the Lodge at Lazy R&R Cove near Canyon Lake June 12-17, 2011 and were a little worried after reading some of the reviews. We had a minimum of ten people staying for 5 nights. We didn't expect the full service treatment for the price we paid...btw it was a great rate and nothing extra per person like most other places. If you want luxury for 10+ people expect to pay for it. We are no strangers to camping and that is what we expected with the Lodge. All we wanted was cold A/C, a stove, enough beds, and bathrooms. We saw the pictures of the lodge on their website and they looked great but, again, the reviews said otherwise.

Our family came from Houston and Dallas and when we got close to Canyon Lake a hill country feel came over us. The scenery was beautiful even in the heat of June. Plenty of wildlife.. deer, birds you don't see in the city, and I even saw a roadrunner. So we were excited as we made our way around the lake and rivers to the Lazy R&R grounds. There is sort of a neighborhood you must drive through to get there and it seems to be connected at the back of the neighborhood closer to the west side river the feeds Canyon Lake. The neighborhood doesn't feel like a neighborhood; it is just a string of beautiful hill country properties (infested with deer).

The Lodge was the first thing we saw on the property. A large amount of parking, a basketball goal and a large patio greeted us as we pulled in. They key was there on the patio for us so we went in. The pictures on the website were pretty accurate.and we were very happy to see that. The Lodge had large window overlooking the hill country property which gave the inside a very comfortable atmosphere. Not a depressing one like some other cabins we have stayed in. As we looked around, the place was fairly clean and all the essentials on our list were covered: A/C, enough beds, working stove, and bathrooms. We were all so happy because it had everything we needed and then some.

Here is where I will tell you what to expect and some of my recommendations:
1. The shower is really tiny but if you are used to camping it is just fine.
2. Currently, there is one set of bunk beds. Don't use the top one as it seems unstable. However, there is enough room for 12-18 people to sleep there. They have 6-7 beds including the fold out couch. Also, there are two more comfortable couches to sleep on and plenty of space for air mattresses, sleeping bags, etc...
3. Don't expect great service. I know this kinda sounds bad but the place is worth it. We went to check in behind the lodge. We rang the bell and waited a little and we still didn't get to see the lady that Rick(the guy we talked to before booking the place) said would be there. I don't think we saw her until the 3rd day. We really didn't need her for anything, we were just trying to check in as it says to do when you get there. It didn't bother us that we couldn't find her; we had the key to the lodge and we were having fun. We did call Rick and he was nice and really tried to accommodate us from his Houston office but all he could do was call the lady and tell her what was going on.
4. The stream and river is a short walk away from the lodge. You can fish, canoe, and boat there. We caught a decent sized bass btw!. The boat ramp isn't far, it is on the neighborhood side of the stream. Rick(who I suspect as the owner) said the lady(I guess she is the groundskeeper?) keeps some canoes to rent and paddle boat. Our mom and aunt love to canoe and are used to canoe prices by the day or included with the cabin. They tried to get a hold of the lady and Rick, again, had to call her. We found out that they charge per hour so our mom and aunt got to canoe for 1-2 hours. It would be nice if they had more canoes and charged by the day.
5. If you are able to, I recommend bringing your own canoes, paddles and/or boats to this place. We don't have any but are planning on getting some canoes and a trailer for them.
6. Bring your own linens as it says.
7. Bring your own cookware. It says they have cookware but it is not that great. But they do have a microwave and fridge(holds a lot of food) that work great.
8. Bring fans or a small A/C unit if you like it really cold. The A/C works fine but our family likes it ice cold. It says not to use the ceiling fans there because it somehow disrupts the flow of A/C due to the high ceilings. We tried it both ways and I think they are right. With your own fans you should be fine in the hot summer months.
9. Don't expect it to be spotless. It is nice, but at the same time it is camping. Granted we are not in tents but if you want a Holiday inn, go stay at a Holiday inn. At the same time it is your responsibility to keep it clean too. Not only for you but for the next guests, as it is still unclear how the place is cleaned, run, or maintained aside from that one lady.
10. They're are good little places close by to get groceries and such. You are not completely in the boonies but you don't lose the wilderness feel either.
11. Talk to Rick about anything related to your trip, he is nice and most likely he can help you. It doesn't seem like they go out of your way for you so you need to engage him to get help or answers.
12. Budget your trip, according to how many people for activities, lodging, length of stay and food. You will be spending some money in these parts. Maybe this review will help you factor in the stuff you want to do so you can budget your trip. I can tell you that the Lazy R&R Lodge was the best deal we found online near Canyon Lake by far.

Our family usually goes to bodies of water for trips, but we didn't quite know what exactly we wanted to do here. So here is the stuff we learned you should do in the area:
- Tubing is always fun. The Guadalupe River on the east side of the lake has plenty of cheap tube rentals and pick up services. The river was low this summer due to the lack of rain. We had to walk our tubes in some areas, but it was still worth it. They have 2-6 hour floats. It is not always one big frat party like some might expect. It is pretty chill when it is not spring break. Bring sunscreen.
- Jet ski on Canyon Lake. In Canyon park there is a marina where you can rent boats and jetskis. 75$ an hour. The deposit is pricy but they don't charge it up front, they just keep a card on file.I didn't think I was going to enjoy it as much as I did and I thought it was expensive. But omg... it was worth it, trust me.
- Fish on land in the rivers and streams. Fish off a boat in canyon Lake. This is where having your own watercraft is handy. There are fish in the lake but the stream fish are the ones that bite.
- Swim in Canyon Lake. The water is clear and cold. Get in.
- Sight-see. I am not a bird-watcher but I bet this place is a birdwatchers paradise. Feed the deer and explore the hills but be careful of rugged rocks and poisonous snakes.
- Golf. The course nearby is nice and affordable. It also has a swimming pool you can go to.
- For the ladies and shoppers. Go shop in Wimberley. It's a nice old-timey town with antiques and bistros.
- Schitterbahn waterpark is a about 40 minutes away. We didn't go we but have been there before. It is classic waterpark-style thrills and fun.
- See a concert in Gruene. They always have someone good playing there.
- It is close to San Antonio and Austin, and we all know the great things to do there, but they are not the reason to come to Canyon Lake.

The positives by far outweigh the few negatives at Lazy R&R Cove. They have a laundry building plenty of industrial trash cans. Horseshoes, volleyball and basketball courts. Open space, playground, picnic tables and grills. Satellite TV and WiFi. Plenty of porch seating at the lodge. The Lodge also has a dishwasher. One downside is that from the lodge you can see a nice pool, but you can't use it. That is the neighborhood pool and restricts Lazy R&R guests. You can use the pool at the golf course close by. You would think the the Lazy R&R owner and the neighborhood civic committee could come to an agreement even if it cost guests money for pool access but I guess they have their reasons. We had a burn ban during our stay because of the dryness, so it is a good idea to bring the George Foreman grills, Crockpots, and coolers just in case. Also, disposable plates, cups, and utensils are worth remembering when shopping for food for your trip. The Lodge even had some games there but you should also bring your own as well along with cards, dominoes, and puzzles for longer trips.

Some of the other reviews seem a little unfair. There is a stagnate pond but if that is all they saw there than they were missing out. For campers, these reviews seem pretty picky, especially for what little they are paying. The people that complain that there is nothing to do here are not looking to have fun. We are used to Caddo Lake Cabins which are nice and the former Chain-O-Lakes(now a swanky resort). Both great canoeing experiences so we were hoping for better canoeing here than what it was but it was still okay. We were concerned about how far everything was from this place since it was not on the water, but when you get there you will realize everything is just a short drive or walk away.

All in all, we had a wonderful trip. We are not picky but we are not dirty people either. If the place was extremely nasty, I would write it here, but it is not. If you are easy-going and can make your own fun, this place is perfect. I can't speak for the rest of the cabins there. They look nice but small and campy. It is true when they say the Lodge is great for family get-togethers as it is fun for all ages. It is very relaxing there and we would love to come back. I hope this helps you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasTripGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The photos are deceiving. This property is very run down, the swimming area is a stagnant cove. Dirty cabin. We laid plastic bags down before we sat on the sofa. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canyon Lake hotels
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
Canyon Springs Country Lodge
#14 of 14 in Canyon Lake
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Mystic Quarry
Mystic Quarry
#2 of 14 in Canyon Lake
33 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Canyon Lake
31 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAA Lazy R & R Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAA Lazy R & R Cove

Property: AAA Lazy R & R Cove
Address: 3660 Tanglewood Trl, Canyon Lake, TX 78070-5394
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most peaceful & quite unique Cove located on the Guadalupe River at the mouth of Canyon Lake. RV, cabins, lodge, campgrounds, canoes & boat ramp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaa Lazy r And r Cove
Aaa Lazy r & r Cove Hotel Canyon Lake
AAA Lazy R & R Cove Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing