We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality in Rustic Mediterranean Elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead Cottages
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Southern Hospitality in Rustic Mediterranean Elegance”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

First, let me start off by saying that we were one of a few lucky folks who were able to receive this magnificent getaway as a gift for Veteran's Day. The owners Justin and Jean opened their hearts to give a few Veteran's this gift. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and there were even gifts from a local pastor, his wife, and some children. We felt welcomed immediately, even through email. The owners knew our route made dinner recommendations, gave us local history info and when we arrived late at night, got a brief tour. The accommodations are comfortable and homey. We were in front of the house and could still see the lake from our window as we were right by the water. In the morning, we were served strawberries Romanoff, Belgian waffles with raspberries and whipped cream topping, and pecan-crusted bacon. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antontio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Tiny House was absolutely delightful. It was my dream playhouse as a child, but it was for real. The house is so precious and nicely decorated. Everything was great except that the house was super hot when we arrived and remained hot until late in the evening. Once the window unit cooled the house, the temp. was fine for the rest of the time. We loved the loft with the kind bed. It felt like sleeping in a tree house.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunintheSun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukhookem, Owner at The Homestead Cottages, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. It is regretable that the Tiny House was not cool when you arrived. In the future we will make an effort to turn on the AC earlier on check in days in order to compensate for the record breaking triple digit heat we are experiencing. We hope to see you again in the future. All the best.

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in the cedar cabin and it was absolutely breathtaking! The views were wonderful! We watched the sunset and staired at the stars! The hot tub was an excellent way to unwind! We throughly enjoyed our stay and recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing and romantic get away!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ospf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Montview Cottage is a lovely and quaint getaway for couples. It has an excellent location to surrounding shopping and outdoor activities. There are beautiful views and scenery, especially the deer that visited every morning and evening. The cottage has all of the necessary amenities to make for a quiet, cozy, and romantic retreat for me and the misses.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yogi6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

If you are looking for a picturesque escape not far from "suburbia" this is it ! The sunset is just as the photo depicts, however, I could never get my camera to capture all the magnificent colors!
The deer show up at and after sunset. You can watch them from the hot tub while enjoying your wine. The skylight shower is nice touch with the feeling of outdoors.
Now having said what an unbelievable scenic place this is, I must remind you this is THE WOODS!! There are BUGS ! Not indoors, everything was spotless, but if you let them in at night, you will have lots of DEAD bugs the next day. Most of these are moth-type creatures. I read what another critic mentioned and I had to laugh. This is TEXAS hill country, mercy !! If you want some significant bugs, go to New York City and deal with the BEDBUGS !!

Room Tip: Full kitchen; but basic utensils.activities nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Looking for a place to escape with my wife to celebrate a 15th year anniversary. Wanted something within hours of our home in Austin. With much searching I found what looked to be a quaint cabin. I like that it had a hot tub and outdoor shower. Was lucky to get the booking because of a cancelation. Really wanted privacy. That is what we got. The cedar log cabin was built to be authentic to the region. The back of the cabin was facing woods. The large covered back patio had the hot tub. The interior was rustic yet had everything you need. The bed was great. Well appointed. The bathroom highlight was the round outdoor shower, stone floor with a glass ceiling letting in natural sunlight. Very unique. Cool experience. I was surprised at how great the cabin was. Nice size for two. High quality time for this couple. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmanroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to the Cottage this weekend for an early Valentine's Day weekend since he's in the military and we don't spend as much time together as we'd like. It was PERFECT! The location was great, not too far off the main road but still felt secluded and closer to nature. The cottage itself was adorable, very well decorated, clean and comfortable! It had the feeling of being home and yet the luxurious feeling of being on vacation. Such a romantic and relaxing weekend, we'll definitely be back.

Also note its close to lots of fun activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elvineva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
2.0 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hideout on the Horseshoe
Hideout on the Horseshoe
#7 of 14 in Canyon Lake
116 reviews
4.2 mi away
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
Still Water Ranch Condominiums
#8 of 14 in Canyon Lake
14 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#3 of 32 in New Braunfels
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Cottages

Property: The Homestead Cottages
Address: 595 Charter Oak Dr, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-6039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Canyon Lake
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Homestead Cottages Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing