We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, great patio”

Lucky's Kitchen and Cocktails
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Canyon Lake
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place, great patio”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great outdoor patio with wonderful view of the lake; food is very good, especially the Monday Night special Fried Catfish! Prime Rib sandwich was good, but cut so thin that it was somewhat overcooked from the medium rare I ordered.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara0498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast and fun but not great cuisine.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went into this place because of convenience, and we found it to be enjoyable. The menu is very unimpressive, just pub grub, but they do it well enough. The bartendress is pretty awesome though. Ambiance is nonexistant, but the waitresses were friendly and cheerful. (Cute too, but don't let my wife read this.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truley a Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Where do I begin!

1) GREAT FOOD!
My boyfriend and I decided to try the: Naked wings, Try 'em All, Classic Fish & Chips and Chocolate torte/Grandma's banana pudding. We left the restaurant 100% satisfied! The naked wings were perfectly cooked and seasoned, not too much sauce/spice and not over done..just right. The Try 'em All is FABULOUS with fresh homemade guacamole, salsa and white queso...so good! The Classic Fish & Chips is just DAMN GOOD! They serve great portions of fish with fresh cut fries & the tarter sauce is PERFECT! The desert is awesome! Basically I have never seen my boyfriend guard, eat and legitimately struggle to compare a banana pudding to his mother's before. It is great!

2) Great location!
Just a mile down the road from riding the river, you can chose to eat inside, on the patio or on the 2nd floor. Either selection is great, but if you want a relaxing, scenic view of Canyon Lake, then go to the 2nd floor. Yes, there are telephone lines, but you can honestly look past them and enjoy the view.

The service is very good, could use some improvement, however, there are some waitresses that are very friendly and helpful.

OVERALL, my boyfriend and I have eaten their twice. The last time we were there was Tuesday afternoon and we drove nearly 2 hours for the food, view and drinks. We would gladly do it again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
160 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Canyon Lake last week and ate at Lucky's twice. The first night we arrived late on Monday and were looking for a place for something quick and Lucky's had been recommended to us the last time we visited so decided to try it out. It was good, and I was surprised. The place looks a little like a dive from the outside, but the food is quite good. We sat inside and ordered nachos, which were yummy, and then tried the fish and chips. The fish was fried in a beer batter and crisp and moist. The fries were seasoned and very good. The kitchen manager came out and asked how we liked our food. We also ate here again before we left town and this time sat outside on the top deck. You can see the lake from here, which is nice. The food was excellent, again, and we drank a couple of local brews, Pedernales beer. Very good. I highly recommend this place for the food and drinks and easy, casual environment. Though it looks like a bar inside, there were plenty of families with children on the upper deck and a children's menu available. Will definitely be our go-to spot when we are camping on Canyon Lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INCONSISTENT and DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

In just over two years the great menu must've changed a half dozen times. No more frog legs, no more crawfish ettouffee and no more bread pudding. All of which we liked and ordered regularly. Servers always changing and management as well. Some things are better left unchanged.... The frog legs were awesome! The ettouffee with crunchy crawfish delicious, bread pudding so yummy....but NO MORE

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReelFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky's Kitchen and Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Lucky's Kitchen and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing