We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and convenient”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canyon Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Let's be clear, this is not a world class 5 star resort. What it is, a very comfortable, clean to relax that is convenient to San Antonio, Austin and the many small interesting communities surrounding Canyon Lake. Some of the best food was with just a few miles. The unit was very clean, well stocked with anything you may need. Beds super comfortable, staff responsive and friendly. The washer and dryer is located at the main check in area which was a little different. My big recommendation / suggestion,,, please provide Wifi. Not just a patchy slow connection, but quality Wifi. We made do because cell coverage was excellent. But that data comes with a cost.

Hill Country is a good place to stay & relax

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGTravelIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    123
    81
    52
    30
See reviews for
229
128
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

It is the closest RCI place to San Marcos. The resort is very nice and huge, actually it is too big for my taste. Our condo was on the other side of the highway from the pool and Rec center, teens can´t get there on their own. There is no Internet!!! Unbelievable.
We did not stay the week.

Room Tip: You don´t have a choice, they assign the condo and thats it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeraMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent a week here for spring break. Our spacious 2 bedroom unit was in the Presidential Villas. From reading other reviews I think there is a significant difference between units on this huge property. Our unit was a very spacious 1 bedroom, with an adjoining studio unit. It was perfect for traveling with a pre-teen who is trying to establish her own level of independence. The studio had a king size bed, a two burner stove top, mini refirgerator and sink. It also had a nice bathroom with large jacuzzi tub. Our daughter was able to prepare her own breakfast in her unit, store her food/snacks, and have a place to call her own. The one bedroom had a large living room (sofa, love seat and large armchair), that also had a wood burning fireplace. Large balcony with views of the lake. It also had a large jacuzzi tub, and a washer and dryer in the unit. There are 4 outdoor pools, one just for the Presidential Suites, but the outdoor pools are not heated, so we could not use ours. But we just walked up the hill to use the indoor pool. There is an activity center. The planned activites seemed to be for young children. There were 4 movies shown each day. They start out with a G rated movie, then 2 PG movies and the 6PM movie is PG-13. There is an arcade area that was used by teenagers. Now for the down side. There is no wi-fi except in the activity center. In this day and age, that is a negative. The 2 phones in our units did not work all week. We reported this the day we chaecked in. Staff did not seem to really care. In fact, the staff are not all that helpful. There is a "concierge", but the desk is manned only sproadically. But overall, we had a good experience. This is a great place to stay with kids. And the unit configuration we were in was perfect for us and would be great if you are traveling as two couples, or have preteen/teenagers. If you have difficulty getting into/out of bathtubs, this will be difficult in these units as the tubs are deep. There is also a small grocery store about 6 miles away. Fresh vegetables are at a minimum. Look for an HEB supermarket while you are out sight seeing and do your grocery shopping there. You will have to have a car and most sight seeing will be 45 minutes to one hour away, but the drives are nice,

Room Tip: Presidential Villas appear to be much nicer than the units closer to the Activity Area/Registration
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent a week here in July. The property itself was large and unwielding. old phone system, lousy dish washer and kitchen utencils and knives, no landscaping to speak of in our area. They are putting in what looks like a pool. The BBQ area was a total joke. Disgusting would be an appropriate. Cheap Charcoal with wire mesh grates and no work area etc. Had to clean out old hot dogs that probably could have been carbon dated. I guess they do not want guests grilling

Our unit was an ambassador unit 3br lock off unit.

Easy drive to most all the hill country spots so great from that respect. WE stayed years ago at the older units and they where actually quieter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIEQUESBEACHBUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First, the good... Mini golf was a true highlight with a great course and free. Swimming pool was fun with a nearby bar along with an enclosed pool for the winter time. As for the rooms, they were very average. We had a two bedroom of decent size but that was after fighting with the front desk to change rooms from a two bedroom with not even one of the beds as a queen! The room we stayed in was much better in size and beds along with a jacuzzi tub. However, the extra room had no dresser and the TVs were the old style small tube ones... Crazy in these times. Overall, a decent stay but definitely not above par (except for golf) .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wemarionFishnGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our two 2-bedroom (A/B) presidential units ended up being in separate buildings making it more of a challenge for the 11 of us to get together as my sister and brother and families were traveling with small children and my parents are older and can't walk very far. They admitted it was their mistake, but nonetheless, there we were with the issue. They also do not have internet available which made it somewhat of a challenge.

However, we enjoyed it and are making plans for next year. The lake is lovely and the resort is huge and has a lot to offer. Having the kitchens and cookware available made our family gathering more intimate and the view was awesome despite the busy road below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There were five of us on our trip to Canyon Lake, and we had a 3 bedroom Ambassador Suite during our stay. It turned out to be two adjoining units, each with a kitchen, living room, dining area, and fireplace. This was nice since we were staying with my in-laws! The rooms were very clean, had all the linens/kitchen items one would expect, and the two minor maintenance issues we had were taken care of within hours of the request. Our room (the larger of the 2 units) was right next to the main highway and was a bit loud. It wasn't the nicest view, as there were some run-down businesses across the street. We could see the lake though, too. We had a large bathroom off the master, with a garden tub and separate shower. There was another full bathroom for the second bedroom/guests. There were two balconies but due to the weather, we didn't use them. Our unit was on the top (4th) floor, and there was an elevator if needed.

The resort complex itself is quite large. The main activities building was far from our unit, so a car was required to get around. Our stay was in December and we only had access to the indoor pool due to cool weather, but it was adequate for the few times my daughter wanted to swim. The main building also had a grille, arcade games, gift shop, laundry, mini-golf, ping pong tables, and the concierge stand. There was also a spot to rent movies or board games, and they had scheduled events for children each day (crafts/games/movies), but we did not participate in them.

Try the Italian Garden, or the Silver Sage Grille while in the area. They are restaurants just to the west of the resort (but have no affiliation with it). Both were very good and offered great service. There is a small grocery store called Lowe's, and two liquor stores to the east of the resort to help supply your food/drink. Take a trip into Gruene (about 30 minutes east) for fun shopping and dining. Head north from the resort and there are many wineries to visit.

Since we had family in the area, we did not spend a lot of time at the resort. It seemed that it would be a great place for summer activities on and around the lake, however. We spent most of our time in San Antonio, about an hours drive.

Overall we had a pleasant stay with few complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EClady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon Lake
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
The Lodge at Turkey Cove
#3 of 3 in Canyon Lake
27 reviews
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 32 in New Braunfels
92 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
#4 of 32 in New Braunfels
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lakehouse Bed and Breakfast
14.5 mi away
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
The Resort at Schlitterbahn
#2 of 32 in New Braunfels
740 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lazy H Lodge B&B
Lazy H Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Canyon Lake
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort
Address: 17545 Fm 306, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-3354 (Formerly Silverleaf Hill Country Resort)
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Canyon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful getaway near big-city excitement! Located in the foothills of Texas Hill Country between Austin and San Antonio, the resort is the best of all worlds. It overlooks scenic Canyon Lake and is a perfect vacation family retreat. Watersports can be found all along the shores of the lake. Zip along on a personal watercraft from the nearby marinas and fish its many great nooks. Or relax under the Texas sun tubing down Guadalupe River. For more water action, head to the year-round indoor/outdoor Schlitterbahn(R) Waterpark. And speaking of theme parks, Six Flags Fiesta Texas has some of the most exciting coaster thrills in the country. More attraction options are available in San Antonio and Austin, both only an hour from the resort. Enjoy a variety of fun family activities right on the resort. With an activity center, mini golf, arcade games, plus indoor and outdoor pools-and more-there's something to keep everyone entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Hill Country Resort Canyon Lake, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing