We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai I've had in the states.”

Sayakomarn Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Sayakomarn's is a family-owned restaurant established in Canyon, Texas, in 2007. We specialize in authentic Thai cuisine, offering traditional favorites as well as a few of our own specialty dishes.
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've had in the states.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for some time.
The people running this small place know their Thai, and know food.
We were in town on vacation to visit Palo Duro Canyon and stopped in.
We came by again the next night because we were so impressed.
Excellent Thai curry - and I'm thankful that they were heavy-handed with the chilies.
To be honest, it kind of ruined other Thai restaurants for me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of our hostess at our B&B. It's a great little local place. It was crowded and it was a bit warm in the restaurant, but the menu is extensive. The food we had was very good....egg rolls, I had a chicken dish and my husband got a beef dish. Both were outstanding. I grew up with friends who were Asian, so I appreciate good Asian food. If you're in Canyon and want something better than Wendy's, give this local place a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Canyon”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Delicious! I go there at least once a week and get the pad thai. Friendly atmosphere with a great wait staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, tx
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big surprise”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Canyon on our way from Dallas to Santa Fe and picked this restaurant off TripAdvisor. We eat Thai fairly regularly around Dallas and were prepared to be underwhelmed, but this place was a real treat. Not fancy, inexpensive, good food that compares to our favorites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Who Would Have Thought?”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was pleasantly suprising enough - even with the "college town" influence of West Texas A&M - to find ONE Thai restaurant let alone THREE, but this one downtown on the square is the leader.

Tom ka gai soup was MOST excellent - and I can only attribute them being out of pad thai noodles as a testament to their quality. (And rats I missed out on a chance the next day owing to a broken water pipe - folks it was COLD while I was there!)

With two competitors on the main north-south highway, this one requires a little jog west to the square but it's easy to find and well worth the extra 2-3 minutes to get there if you're traveling through. Decor was nice, service was fine, food was very good and the traffic inside was steady with an affable lunch crowd.

Don't pass 'em up if Thai food is one of your things!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sayakomarn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing