We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great customer service!”
Review of Buffalo Inn

Buffalo Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, great customer service!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Charming 1950s vibe. Clean, well maintained, nice staff, great price, and great alternative to the cookie cutter big chain hotels. The shower in our room was a little uncomfortable, and the breakfast is nothing to write home about, but overall we highly recommend the Buffalo INN!

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but room #9 had a bad shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

In May, 2013 I stayed at the Buffalo Inn in Canyon Texas. I wanted to see the Panhandle Plains Historical Museum which is actually right on the other side of the street in the West Texas A&M University complex.

The Buffalo Inn is really nicely decorated outside and in, comfortable, safe, and while there aren't extra amenities, everything there works perfectly and is spotlessly clean. It is probably the cleanest motel - outside and inside - that I have ever stayed in.

The price was very modest and the proprietress was very gracious. I highly recommend the Buffalo Inn.

Greg

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garym1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
275 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First of all, that picture of the pool is NOT of Buffalo Inn.

The rooms are not particularly clean; there is little more than a couple of travel-size soaps in the bathroom (no shampoo or any other toiletries); the room is warmed/cooled by a horrible electric heater/AC unit under the window, but there is still a ridiculous draft; and our mattress HAD bed bugs.

This place was $67 dollars to stay at...and although the surrounding hotels were $20 dollars more, I would say it's worth the extra expense to just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jsleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canyon hotels

utah
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A nice place with fridge and microwave, free wifi and clean rooms. Conveniently located. Certainly a good option for the area. Free coffee but few amenities. Right down the street from a new Asian restaurant that was FABULOUS!! The Asian Garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am always leery of independent motels, especially ones that were built before I was born. Lately my wife has gotten me to trust AAA and most of the reviews here. We saved about $30 - $50 by staying here and were rewarded with a very clean, neat room and a perfect nights sleep.

My only complaint was the towels were thin and scratchy. But for the savings, I'll carry a couple towels and use my own. The shower was interesting, it was basically a shower cave that was kind of cool. I imagine if there wasn't sunlight beaming through the glass block at one end it could be dark, but I found the shower to be quirky and functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just married in canyon went in just before the wedding got a room an got there. Late that night room had plenty of towels soap tp an room was fully furnished with micro an fridge new 27 inch flat screen tv the service was great the furnishings were all new great lighting new air conditioner an a small breakfast an who needs a coke Machine when all the local businesses are so close including a 24 hr mcdonalds thank you buffalo inn for a fantastic stay after our special day

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foreverforalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one Saturday night a few weeks back. We had come to Canyon on a motorcycle ride to see the Palo Duro Canyon. This is a fair looking property that has become a bit run down over the years. The guy at the front desk was friendly and helpful, but when we got to our room, there were no bath towels. The room had a small refrig, but the freezer section was completely iced over. The room was clean, but probably had not been updated since the Johnson administration. There was no soft drink machine. On the plus side, the internet connection worked, and the (old and small) T.V. picked up about a hundred stations. I guess that it was O.K. for the price, but not a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
14.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
15.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Inn

Property: Buffalo Inn
Address: 300 23rd Street, US Hwy 87 & 217, Canyon, TX 79015
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Hotel Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing