We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award-winning for a reason” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Coffee Company

Palace Coffee Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Award-winning for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Palace Coffee Shop is in a renovated historic hotel building on the courthouse square. The decorations include some first-class art by local artists. The baristas know what they are doing - several have won national awards. This was a nice morning to sit outside and just watch the world go by.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRed79109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
300 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee Shop - Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My lady and I spend quite a bit of time traveling around this vast country and one of the things we really prize is stumbling on excellent coffee shops in the most unlikely places. After an exhausting morning hike in the Canyon, the three of us - my lady, myself and Mrs Jones the canine family member - were in need of coffee and some sustenance. We got out the phone, checked AroundMe, saw a Starbucks not too far away in Amarillo but then also saw the Palace right in Canyon and decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Of course, knowing that a branch of Western TAMU is in town we should have expected a good coffee shop...

Quaint little shop, on the corner of the town square across from the county courthouse building. Very friendly staff, excellent coffee and an excellent chicken salad wrap as well. We sat outside with Mrs Jones, enjoying the cooling breeze, drinking coffee, listening to the bells chime in the courthouse. Enjoyed it so much we stayed for another round of coffee, whiling away over an hour of a pleasant afternoon Everyone we met was so very friendly and almost all stopped to talk to Mrs Jones.

Pleasant place. If you a re visiting the Canyon and need your caffeine fix, this is the place to get it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I am so glad that Canyon has such a great coffee shop! Great coffee and super friendly staff! Award winning coffee in shop. I can only hope that a place like Palace exists in my home town someday!

Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant cup of coffe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The place holds a nice and quiet atmosphere in downtown. The best part if the quality of the coffee they offered

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flop211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ehhh...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm really not impressed with this place. I've been there a few times when I received average service and a fairly good drink, but most times I have to wait over 10 minutes for my drink, even when only a couple people have ordered before me, and a lot of times the drink doesn't taste like I think it should. I also find it overpriced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing