We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best view of the canyon”

Palo Duro Canyon Jeep Tours at Elkins Ranch
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best view of the canyon”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

found this attraction on trip-advisor and loved it. The trip is in an open 4WD vehicle and the road is unpaved. Our guide, Nicole, was amazing, she was dedicated to teach, provided wonderful information about the history, geology and nature. The tour takes you around the private site of the canyon so is not available to the state park visitors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank long_horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal Views of the Canyon”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We recommend a jeep tour to anyone who wants to see the Palo Duro Canyon without having to hike it. The tour complements what you can see from your car driving through the park, and the narration from the guide/driver broadens the experience.

See the Palo Duro Canyon during the off season. We were told the place is overrun during the spring and summer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SidMonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Being at the park during the week in Nov. was a real positive. No crowds, good weather and a very relaxing tour. Nicole was our tour guide. She was very pleasant, informative and a good driver. The views were wonderful and we were able to get some great photos.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and money”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took an abbreviated tour due to some heavy rains making the full 3 hour tour impossible. Our tour guide Nicole was very knowledgable and very accommodating of all our questions. The views were fantastic and she was more than willing to stop for pictures . We had been to the state park the day before but I learned more history of the canyon from Nicole . Reasonably priced! Well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sodza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Better than the State Park, not to be missed”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This private ranch offers jeep tours of the canyon. Our tour which took us to the bottom of the ranch was ably led by James who tailored his talk and our travels to our interests. This tour take you through a much less traveled part of the canyon since its private and only allows jeep tourist in to visit. James covered the flora, fauna, history and geology with some breath taking views, and exhilarating ups and downs in the jeep. We took the 2.25 hr tour, but there is longer and shorter for the time or finance strapped. Worth every penny!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Duro Canyon Jeep Tours at Elkins Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Palo Duro Canyon Jeep Tours at Elkins Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing