We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic home with wonderful hosts and a delicious breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2009

You just can't find a friendlier town! We loved our time in Canyon and at the Hudspeth House!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenarthur317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2009

We have lived in Texas our whole lives and never dreamed we could have such a wonderful time in the Panhandle. We visited Palo Duro Canyon via a Jeep Tour through Elkins Ranch. And went to Groom Texas (east of Amarillo) to see the 2nd tallest cross in the US. It was so nice to come home each evening to Hudspeth House. This bed and breakfast was very nice... the room was cozy, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, the innkeepers were friendly. We had a great time. We would recommend Hudspeth House to everyone. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

My husband and I couldn't take off work to go to my son's West Texas A&M trombone audition. The Hudspeths took very good care of my son. They fed him Orange French toast and Banana Pancakes for breakfast because he doesn't like eggs. Their cooking is better than mine because they're professionals according to my son.

I heard about his scholarship from them before I heard about it from my son! Clearly, they took the time to get to know him. They also provided a bit of supervision that wouldn't be possible at a chain hotel (he was very good).

Walking the three blocks to his audition with his trombone was no problem. The location was as perfect as the breakfast.

If Kyle decides to attend West Texas A&M, we'll know exactly where to stay! Southern Living Magazine and th Dallas paper gave this place glowing reviews for a good reason!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank True_but_kind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

First time at a B&B and it was wonderful. Everything was perfect and the owners make you feel at home. Had my reservations about staying at a B&B, but if they are all like this one no problem.
This experience makes me want to never stay at a hotel again. Stayed in the Lighthouse room, it was perfect for a couple. This is a must stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluebonnet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

With millions of hotels that are all pretty much the same it is refreshing to find a FAMILY in charge.
In charge of the food
In charge of meeting the guests
In charge of "MAKING YOU REALLY FEEL AT HOME"

If the food was good enough for Georgia O then it was great for us.

History at your doorstep..

Stayed: January 2009
Thank NewMexicoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Our stay was excellent in every way. We loved the history of the
Inn and the local area. Breakfast was superb, and the hospitality of Van and Jill was exceptional.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank westtexan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We were looking for a place to stay while visiting family in Canyon. Searching the local motels, we chanced onto Hudspeth House and I remembered my sister mentioning it a few years ago.

Hudspeth House is conveniently located in Canyon, a pleasant place, and nicely decorated for the Christmas season. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and above all the wonderful breakfasts. Jill is a great cook and the portions were just right. Jill and Val are very great hosts.

We recommend Hudspeth House if you are staying in Canyon.

Regards,

Chuck and Linda

Stayed: December 2008
Thank 999Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Amarillo Airport
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canyon
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 3 in Canyon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing