We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were delightful and hosts friendly, helpful and kind. Would appreciate a more in depth list of things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are glad you chose to stay with us for several nights and explore our area. The Canyon is amazing, the Museum is loaded with history and our downtown square is occupied with quaint shops. It was great that you were able to enjoy it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    28
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
191
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on way to Route 66 from Dallas. Warm friendly welcome with tea and home made cookie, helpful advice on local restaurants, lovely house well looked after and inviting and a nice cosy room at the top to sleep in


Only thing to note is that the trains do make a lot of noise through the night and by morning won't be so quaint a noise as when you first heard them but don't let that put you off this is the best place around by miles

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryandbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for including Canyon and our B&B on the itinerary for your Route 66 trip! You really did your research and planned a fun-filled time in the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have been to many B & B in Europe, in U.K,. and Hudspeth House is now rated very high on my list. I will recommend it to my friends in Europe The owners very friendly. Clean room and perfect breakfast. Very quiet and you feel like being at home. Well done. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse room was perfect. On top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Well it was quite a treat to have a Swedish Chef stay with us. We, along with our guests enjoyed hearing about your chef duties at the horse ranch back in Sweden and the stories of your travels in Texas and New Mexico. Also, I want to now search for lingonberries to cook with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my first time to stay at a B&B and I really enjoyed my stay at the Hudspeth House. The owners were very friendly and accommodating of my very late arrival and very early departure a couple days later. The room was very nice, the bed extremely comfortable, and breakfast was great.

I will definitely say there again if I am back in Canyon, TX.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are so glad to be a part of your first B&B experience and hope you will be led to try many more in the future. Bed & Breakfasts are unique and a great way to converse with other travelers in a warm and friendly surrounding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our experience had pluses and minuses like most things.

The downstairs of the B&B was very nice and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. They provided great restaurant and attraction information.

However overall we were disappointed by the actual accommodation.

While the breakfast tasted good, it was limited and much below what we expected from our stops at other B&Bs.

Between the street and the train, our room was very noisy, The street is busy even at 3 am.

A lot of small details have been overlooked. Our bathroom door wouldn't latch. While charming , charming with fresh paint would be better.

The price is out of line with the location and value received.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Loft if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austintraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We appreciate your comments and ideas for improvements to our accommodations. A structure over 100 yrs. old is in constant need of updates and renovations. We have been able to work on many of these projects throughout the years and continue to do as much as we can to maintain the beauty of this historic property. Again, thanks for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hosts were especially nice. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms clean and beds comfy. We had okeefe room and bath was extremely large with shower and separate tub. The bathroom and bedroom were spacious. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks so much for letting us be a part of your Spring Break plans. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back to Canyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hudspeth House is incredibly charming and welcoming. The whole house is gorgeous and I especially enjoyed sitting out on the veranda with some of the homemade iced tea reading a book. The rooms are all themed and beautifully neat and clean and there is a lit of attention to detail. Our hosts, Van and Jill, were wonderful and accommodating, their breakfasts and snacks were delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we actually stayed an additional night.

If you are ever passing through Canyon make sure you pay a visit to the Hudspeth House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbedwirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
You guys were a long way from home and we appreciate you letting us show you some true Texas hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
14.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing