We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our experience had pluses and minuses like most things.

The downstairs of the B&B was very nice and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. They provided great restaurant and attraction information.

However overall we were disappointed by the actual accommodation.

While the breakfast tasted good, it was limited and much below what we expected from our stops at other B&Bs.

Between the street and the train, our room was very noisy, The street is busy even at 3 am.

A lot of small details have been overlooked. Our bathroom door wouldn't latch. While charming , charming with fresh paint would be better.

The price is out of line with the location and value received.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Loft if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austintraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We appreciate your comments and ideas for improvements to our accommodations. A structure over 100 yrs. old is in constant need of updates and renovations. We have been able to work on many of these projects throughout the years and continue to do as much as we can to maintain the beauty of this historic property. Again, thanks for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hosts were especially nice. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms clean and beds comfy. We had okeefe room and bath was extremely large with shower and separate tub. The bathroom and bedroom were spacious. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thanks so much for letting us be a part of your Spring Break plans. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back to Canyon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hudspeth House is incredibly charming and welcoming. The whole house is gorgeous and I especially enjoyed sitting out on the veranda with some of the homemade iced tea reading a book. The rooms are all themed and beautifully neat and clean and there is a lit of attention to detail. Our hosts, Van and Jill, were wonderful and accommodating, their breakfasts and snacks were delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we actually stayed an additional night.

If you are ever passing through Canyon make sure you pay a visit to the Hudspeth House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbedwirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

You guys were a long way from home and we appreciate you letting us show you some true Texas hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and I'm afraid Hudspeth House set the bar extremely high. The experience was truly wonderful. Van and Jill (owner/operators) were extremely generous and welcoming. The home itself was stunning, better than any five-star hotel could have been. Breakfast was amazing...I still dream of that bacon and banana walnut pancakes. *sigh...

Overall I would strongly recommend Hudspeth House B&B to anyone visiting the area. Trust me when I say you will not be disappointed. We stayed in the Chloe Room, absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Chloe Room is a perfectly sized room with an equally awesome private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MROD512ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for letting us be your introduction to the charming and unique world of Bed and Breakfasts. TripAdvisor is a great avenue to use when planning B&B accommodations for your travels. You will hear from guests like yourself and learn of their experience with the lodging and hospitality they received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stopped here on our drive from Santa Fe to Dallas. Jill & Van were very friendly and accomodating hosts, and served a delicious breakfast in the morning. Our room was nice and clean; only downside was the bathroom was very tiny and we had to get a running start to jump up on our high bed. It was a little noisy at night when the train rolled through. Admittedly we did not do much in Canyon, as we were just driving through, but this seems like a nice home base if you are traveling here to explore the canyon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reber1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The host and hostess were excellent. Friendly, and helpful. Everything was clean, and decorated pleasantly. Location was perfect. The bed was comfy, but high. Really, it helped to have the step stool getting in and out. The bathroom was very tight. Too small for ease of use. The shower was so small it was difficult to use it comfortably. There is a very cozy room downstairs for drinks and conversation. Plus, Georgia O'keefe used this home for room and board between 1916 and 1918, according to the Museum one block away. Historically cool.

The breakfast was spare our first morning, Saturday, as we had to leave very early morning for the Palo Duro Trail Run. Coffee and light snack, understandable. Sunday the breakfast was served at 8:30am, but we had to leave for home at 7:15 am, and nothing was available, not even coffee. Disappointing. Noise at night from a nearby train track woke me more than once.

I might stay here again, but might also consider someplace quieter, and with a larger, more functional bathroom.

Room Tip: One with a lower bed and away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We appreciate your comments and wish you had experienced a better night's sleep. Unfortunately, there is a busy train track that can be heard throughout town and can be a bit annoying during the winter months when the wind blows from the north and no leaves on trees to quiet the sound.
The room you chose does have a very small bathroom which is stated on our website. There are larger rooms that offer more space within the bathroom. It was a busy weekend and other rooms may not have been available.
We did accommodate our guests that were participating in the early morning run in the Canyon with coffee, fruit, yogurt and bagels. As stated in our policies and confirmations, our "sit-down" breakfast is served at 8:30am and coffee is available beginning at 7:30am. We regret that you were unable to join us, but definitely understand when guests need to get on the road earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful grounds and exceptionally well decorated with peiod antiques! The rooms were very comfortable and the beds were exceptional! The owners were kind and considerate and arranged accomodations for our late arrival. The breakfasts were tasty and the French Toast was world class! The front porch offered a soothing respite from a long, but enjoyable trek through Palo Duro Canyon! Highly recommend the Hudspeth House!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chloe Room--very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captredball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillandVan, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Your kind words are such an encouragement, as we strive to offer hospitality with the upmost priority. It was a pleasure to host you and your friends during the "birthday" getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 3 in Canyon
74 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing