We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination of comfort and history”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very comfortable room in a historic property. I am not a big fan of B and B's. But I loved this house, and I loved how the owners really cared about my comfort. Nice bedding; great bath facilities.

If you are in Canyon, I think this is THE place to stay.

Martha K, Odessa, TX

Room Tip: I was in the Texana room and I think it's a good room for a single traveler or for a close, lovi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 343 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

This B&B was so wonderful! I hosted an event there in February and was very grateful for how helpful and kind the staff was. I will definitely be returning and would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone interested in spending a romantic, special getaway or even just a visit to Canyon! The prices are very affordable and the service is fantastic.

Room Tip: LOVED the O'Keeffe room! comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Van and Jill were great host, they knew the area and gave us great suggestions. Lodging was excellent, well-kept and breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day. Being close to the canyon it’s a great location to it and to local hot spots, Museum, College and restraunts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Home was great. O'Keefe Room was large with comfortable bed and huge bathroom, hosts were friendly and helpful. Hope to return. Palo Duro Canyon was worth the trip. Downtown Canyon exceeded expectations with cute shops and a great coffee shop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just returned from a road trip that took us to the Palo Duro Canyon area. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we booked the Hudspeth Room in Canyon, TX for two nights. We would recommend the Hudspeth House B&B to anyone traveling that way. Jill and Van are wonderful hosts; the breakfasts were excellent, and the house is charming. The Hudspeth room is on the first floor, which was very convenient for me as recent surgery kept me from climbing too many stairs. Unfortunately we did not see the upper floor rooms, but all indications from our room and the rest of the house is that they are all beautifully appointed and comfortable. I'm not sure I would stay here with very young children, but for those with well-behaved older children, or couples, this B&B is ideal.

Room Tip: The Hudspeth room is on the first floor. There is a little light coming into the room at night from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonnieB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I host a weekend marriage retreat for couples of children with special needs. Van & Jill help us by providing the "bed & breakfast" component of the retreat. Staying at the Hudspeth House always receives the top grade when our couples evaluate the retreat. A large part of that grade is the way Van & Jill make them feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We found the Hudspeth on the internet when we were in a quick need for a nice place to spend the night. Van held the last remaining room for us until we were able to get tickets to TEXAS and call him back. It is a beautiful, well kept treasure in Canyon, TX. Anyone looking for a lovely B&B at a reasonable price need look no further than the romantic atmosphere of the Hudspeth. The breakfast our hosts provided was as pleasing to the palate as it was to the eyes!

Room Tip: Call early, this is one you do not want to miss, tell them Dave sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing