We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Nice...”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We bought the Couples package including the Texas Musical. I've never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before...what a delight! The House is beautiful, the hosts are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Lighthouse room on the third floor....the only complaint we have is that the tub was too short...lol. We couldn't stretch out and soak. That will NOT keep us from coming back. Thank you very much for a lovely nights rest and a delicious breakfast. I wish I would have had more time to sit on the porch with my coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    30
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
206
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Slidell
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful home and accommodations. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the Canyon area. Jill was quite helpful in her advise of timing when to get to the Texas show -- allowed me to grab a nap first. Great value and service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hudspeth House and went to see the Texas musical for a quick anniversary outing. The house was beautiful and had a very interesting history, including a connection with Georgia O'Keefe. Jill and Van were so friendly and made us feel right at home. Palo Duro Canyon has such pretty views - even during a record-breaking drought. All in all, it was a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macyjayne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Jill and Van were very accomodating to us as we checked in "on the fly" on the way to Palo Duro Canyon and the Texas Play. We stayed in the Lone Star room, which was very comfortable. The temperature outside was Texas hot, so it was wonderful to come back to such a cool, quiet room. Breakfast was delicious. Wish I knew the secret of that French Toast! Would definitely recommend Jill and Van's Hudspeth House.

Rob & Kathy Kilgore

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kak058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingfisher, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is the first time we have stayed at a bed and breakfast and based on the hospitality of the Shelton's and their beautiful B & B it won't be our last. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, the french toast for breakfast was excellent and we couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. We highly recommend the Hudspeth House to everyone staying in the Canyon area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a great time at Hudspeth House. Jill and Van are so nice and accomodating. The food was wonderful too. We'll definitely go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleH55648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our stay couldn't have been more enjoyable. Our room was light, airy, clean and comfortable. Every detail of our comfort was seen to with a smile and we would rate Van and Jill as hosts of the highest order. Our only regret is that we had to leave the next day, but we will definitely be back. - John & Kathy, Arlington TX

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlingtontraipsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
14.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing