We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Canyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at Hudspeth House the weekend of May 14th and throughly enjoyed our experience. Van & Jill were so warm and welcoming. The house was beautiful and clean, clean, clean. The room was very comfortable and so nicely decorated. We really enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the evenings. Just a nice, calming get away. The breakfast was AWESOME! Fantastic french toast and I couldn't get enough of the coffee! Be sure to check out the unique jewlery in the front room. Jill's sister hand makes it. I bought a great torquise necklace and absolutely love it! When we go back to hike Palo Duro again (we loved it, so I know we will go back) we will definately stay at the Hudspeth House again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 343 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were in town for a funeral, on short notice. Our family members were the only ones in the hotel for two nights, and we were made to feel welcome and cared for. The breakfast was hearty and good, and we felt comfortable visiting on the front porch and in the parlor. Very pleasant accommodations and we would all highly recommend another stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehudspeth, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

We are glad that we were able to provide a place of respite for your family during the loss of a loved one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Hudspeth House. Jill & Van were excellent hosts. They recommended various places to see and restaurants that were available in the area. Our room was on the first floor and was very spacious. This was Miss Hudspeth's bedroom. I hate to carry luggage up stairs so this was to our delight.

My husband cannot eat cheese and Jill made sure she had something special every morning for him. She cooks a great breakfast that all enjoyed.

When back in the area we will definately stay with Jill & Van.

Eunice & Reg Overman

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehudspeth, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

We do strive to meet the needs of all our guests and we appreciate your acknowledgement of this. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My daughter and i go to canyon several times a year to meet up with my other daughter for a "girls weekend". for some time, we stayed at area hotels until a couple of years ago when we decided to try out the Hudspeth House.......wish we had done that earlier!!!! Very clean, excellent bed, excellent food, hospitality great! definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jallen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehudspeth, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Guests who continue to return let us know we are doing something right. You and your daughters now feel like family and are always a welcome sight in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Hudspeth House was the perfect location for rest and reflection after a trip to the legendary canyon and all of it's wonders. The owners were gracious, welcoming and a tribute to their small town. We enjoyed learning about the historic home, all of it's incarnations and the sense of connection to the characters of the past who had graced it's rooms. Georgia O'keefe's story and artistic influence was tangible with numerous reference pieces for inquisitive guests. The breakfast was worth driving 500 miles for and a gluten free request was met with enthusiasm and delicious flair, everything so fresh and beautifully served. If you are in the area, don't miss the opportunity to indulge in an historic jewel and experience peace, comfort and a true sense of history.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjplushbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehudspeth, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

We appreciate your glowing review so much. Your total satisfaction and enjoyment makes our job worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We were greeted warmly and made to feel at home. The bedroom was nicely decorated, roomy, and very comfortable. The well-prepared breakfast was delicious. We were only able to stay one night, but enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehudspeth, Owner at Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

We like that you felt at home while staying with us and hope that you return for a longer visit in the future. Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

If you have to come to Canyon or even Amarillo I would totally stay at the Hudspeth House instead of a hotel. The price point is great and the breakfast is out of this world. The owners Van and Jill were also so great and make you feel right at home when you get there and until you leave. I look forward to staying with them again on my next trip out to West Texas.
Thanks for making us feel at home and I hope you both have a Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canyon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Palo Duro Canyon Inn & Suites
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
9.7 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudspeth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1905 4th Ave, Canyon, TX 79015-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Canyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canyon
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hudspeth House, built in 1909 offers 7 beautifully decorated rooms. Artist, Georgia O'Keefe ate her meals in the home while living in Canyon and teaching at the nearby University. After a delicious full breakfast, you'll want to explore Palo Duro Canyon State Park and the charming town of Canyon, Texas! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing