We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Texas!" Show”

Ranked #11 of 18 things to do in Canyon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Palo Duron Canyon State Scenic Park.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Texas!" Show”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The show "Texas!" was amazing. I toured with a group and the staff of the park were very polite and accommodating. We did the Chuck Wagon Diner and the backstage tour along with the show. I highly advise getting your tickets for the top of the theater because you are able to see everything going on in the show. The backstage tour was very interesting and we learned a lot about the special effects of the show. I plan on returning to see this show many times in my life.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pioneer Amphitheatre”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an awesome setting for theatrical performances. There are several through out the year. The main one from June to mid May is "The Musical Texas" about the early settling of the Texas Panhandle. I am sure that more information an be found from Texas Panhandle Heritage Foundation. This show is Tuesday thru Sunday dinner is available at 6:30pm, amphitheatre opens at 7:30 show starts at 8:30pm. This show is for all ages best seats are in center section about mid way up. You get a full view. The people who answer the phone are very helpful. There is also a small store near the performance area in the state park where you can also get food, gifts, etc if you would rather do that. The performance also offers backstage opportunities to see all the costumes and behind the scenes props.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wiggintonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Texas Musical”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great amphitheater for the musical. No bad seats so no need to 'spend up' for the more expensive ones. Excellent sound system for outdoor theater.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent outside play”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We bought tickets for 5 adults and a 6 yr old. We sat in aisle I and aisle J right in the middle section. These were awesome seats because we were the right distance from the stage and were able to see everything. It poured rain earlier so we worried they would cancel the show and it was the last showing for the season, but we got lucky and the night was perfect. The play was great with live horses and the use of the canyon as a backdrop. It was well put together and the end of it was the best with the singing and the fireworks intermingled into the production. If you have not seen this play yet it is a definite MUST see!
The only thing I would say is if you decide to go at the very end of the season, eat before you go because they run out of everything at the concessions because they are trying to get rid of their inventory other than that it was awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stixx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pioneer Amphitheatre”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

One of the best attractions in Texas, don't miss it, I left a foot off the ground. Comfortable seating, good views of the canyon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Amphitheatre also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing