We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
No burros required.

Spectacular views. A great place to stop and get some air. The longhorns are friendly. Watch out... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
918brandyb
,
Kansas City, Missouri
via mobile
Great park

Lots to do right off the road. Really dated video at visitor center. Actually not much there that... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Mydisplayname12
via mobile
Read all 2,140 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Canyon
from $12.50
More Info
Reviews (2,140)
Filter reviews
2,140 results
Traveler rating
1,552
460
96
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,552
460
96
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trading post palo duro canyon wild turkeys rock garden hiking trails texas panhandle flat land visitor center beautiful scenery gift shop great hiking mile hike light house natural beauty ccc trail the loop amarillo area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,140 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Palo Duro Canyon State Park truly is a hidden gem. You'll have a hard time believing you're still in the Texas panhandle as soon as you enter the park and take in the amazing views & rock formations. While there are many great activites here, such as zip linning and the musical that is performed in the summer months, the best way to see the park in my opinion is to set out on one of their many hiking trails. These trails have parking lots that are accessible right off the park loop road and are fit for any type of hiker.

If you're passing through the Texas panhandle and can spare a few hours, Palo Duro Canyon is definitely worth your time.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank mrusagetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Our family had a great time hiking the Lighthouse Trail in Palo Duro Canyon State Park. Excellent trail, though a little tough at the end with a rock scramble. We would definitely do it again! Kids ages 15, 13, and 8.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Palo Duro Canyon is definitely a hidden gem. We had an amazing time there. We loved exploring the area. The views and trails are simply stunning. We would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Worth the 6hr drive from Fort Worth. Once I got to the park, and got out the car, I knew immediately it was worth the drive. Limited parking available by the visitors center. I stopped there first to ask some questions and staff was very helpful. You can start hiking from the visitors center that leads you DOWN into the canyon. But my chosen hike was The LightHouse Trail. There is a parking area for this trail too. And for a Saturday is was super packed. But once I got started on the trail, it wasn’t packed with hikers like I thought it would be. So yes it was a peaceful hike in my experience. A tip, bring a camel pak! Cannot stress that enough. And a good pair of walking shoes. I witnessed plenty of hikers turning around early because they only had water bottles and casual shoes! The lighthouse trail is rocky, muddy, and sandy. And limited amounts of shade. I would definitely recommend hiking here! Worth it.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank biancaalcantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

If you like the outdoors, nature and rock formations, hiking, horseback riding, and exploring, THIS IS YOUR PLACE! For a low entry fee, you and your family can visit for the day. Camping is also offered for the more rugged. There are several location to stop for a picnic or bathrooms along the driving trails. Maps are very easy to follow. The park also hosts the musical show, TEXAS! which you have to see if you are visiting while it's showing. As for the bathrooms that were mentioned, it is a state park, so yeah, there may be spiders in the bathrooms, it's TEXAS! There are bugs everywhere! When you are visiting Palo Duro Canyon, plan accordingly, bring your lunch, water, sunscreen and maybe even extra clothes to be comfortable. This isn't a place to wear your cute shoes and cute outfits!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Anne Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews